Skip to main content

$200,000 Cinch Timed Event Championship is Evolving

19 cowboys invited to compete; fans will select the 20th cowboy with interactive vote
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Historically, the Lazy E Arena has selected and invited 20 of the best all-around cowboys in the world to compete for the top prize of $100,000 in the Cinch Timed Event Championship.

For the first time in the 34-year history, fans will have a say. The new CTEC Wild Card concept will allow fans to complete the 20-man field by voting at Polling will open Oct. 15 and close Nov. 15, 2017. The five wild-card contestants are Clayton Hass, Lane Karney, Landon McClaugherty, Cash Meyers and Spencer Mitchell.

“I like it, because it gets the fans involved and adds some excitement to it,” said Karney, who competed for the first time this past year. “I’m grateful for a chance to be on the CTEC Wild Card ballot.”

Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 10.23.18 AM

For the first time in his nine years of competing at the CINCH Timed Event Championship, Jess Tierney will defend the title he rightfully earned in 2018. By winning the 2017 Ironman, Tierney – a six-time qualifier to the Clem McSpadden National Finals Steer Roping – joins the legacy of elite athletes who have captured the title.

“I can’t think of anything better than to be recognized with those guys,” Tierney said. “It’s like a young baseball player watching their heroes and then being on the wall with Mickey Mantle. Leo (Camarillo) and Bobby (Harris) and Trevor … I’ve tried to emulate all of them in what I do.”

That’s because the Timed Event is one of the most unique events in in Western sports, where each contestant will compete in all five disciplines: heading, heeling, tie-down roping, steer wrestling and steer roping. One time through constitutes one round, and the cowboys will compete in five go-rounds over just three days. It’s a challenging and rugged test of skills and mental toughness. That’s why it’s been dubbed “The Ironman of ProRodeo.”

“To watch everybody in how they compete in all the different events to getting on different horses is a really great part of the Timed Event,” Karney said. “I’ve watched it on video growing up, but to actually do it in those conditions with a big arena and a long score, with all the elements, is great. Last year I was almost guilty of being more of a fan, even though I was a contestant.”

Along with reigning champ Jess Tierney, back at the E March 2-4 to battle for the Ironman is fan favorite JoJo Lemond, past champions, Trevor Brazile, Paul David Tierney and Josh Peek, plus NFR regulars Dustin Bird, Erich Rogers, and Russell Cardoza.

The 2018 CINCH Timed Event Championship partners include CINCH – Jeans and Shirts, Priefert – Farm, Ranch & Rodeo, YETI Coolers, Montana Silversmiths, ABI Equine, RAM, Carroll Original Wear, P&K Equipment, Cavender’s, American Farmers and Ranchers Insurance, Nutrena, The Team Roping Journal, MacroAir, Bio S.I., National Saddlery, Cross Bar Gallery, John Vance Auto, Pendleton Whisky, CSI Saddle Pads, AQHA, Guthrie CVB, Made In Oklahoma Coalition, J.W. Brooks Hat Company, Oklahoma Junior Cattlemen’s Association, Hilton Garden Inn – Edmond, America’s Best Value Inn – Guthrie, Sherwin-Williams, La Quinta Edmond and the Fairfield Inn & Suites – Edmond. Hampton Inn – Guthrie.

The 2018 CINCH Timed Event Championship is a Lazy E Production. For more information on the CINCH Timed Event Championship or other Lazy E events, contact the Lazy E Arena, 9600 Lazy E Drive, Guthrie, OK 73044, (405) 282-RIDE, (800) 595-RIDE or visit

CINCH Timed Event Championship Contestants

Jess Tierney 

Clay Smith

Trevor Brazile 

Josh Peek

Paul David Tierney 

Jordan Ketcher

Marcus Theriot 

Shay Carroll

Shank Edwards 

Kyle Lockett

Erich Rogers 

Trell Etbauer

Cody Doescher 

Daniel Green

K.C. Jones 

Russell Cardoza

JoJo LeMond 

Dustin Bird

Rhen Richard

CINCH Timed Event Championship Wild Card Nominees

Clayton Hass 

Lane Karney

Landon McClaugherty 

Cash Meyers

Spencer Mitchell