Bob Feist Nominated For Rodeo Hall Of Fame

Bob, dubbed “the godfather of team roping” by his peers, has been instrumental in giving professional team ropers the chance to compete for large purses and achieve great recognition in the sport of team roping by creating and producing the Bob Feist Invitational Team Roping (BFI) for 34 years. Bob is also well known in the western arena as an announcer of many prestigious events including the PRCA National Finals Rodeo, PRCA National Steer Roping Finals, PBR Finals, USTRC National Finals, Reno Rodeo and recognized as the voice of the famed Lazy E Timed Event Championship. Rodeo is not the only avenue for Bob’s vocal talents. For many years, he has announced the Cowboy Downhill in Steamboat Springs, Colo. and the Bishop (Calif.) Mule Days.

Before Bob started his announcing career, you could find him at RCA/PRCA Rodeos across the country competing in team roping. He headed for the likes of Rickey Green, E.V. Dorsey, Al Hooper, Jerold Camarillo, Ken Luman, John Paboojian, Sam Fancher and Frank Ferreira, Sr. He competed for many years, until an injury semi-retired him from the arena floor and sent him to the announcer’s stand. Bob also enjoyed the time he spent on the PRCA board as an alternate team roping director.
The selection committee of the Rodeo Historical Society (RHS) chose nine nominees out of many outstanding candidates to be included on the 2013 ballot. Living nominees are: Doug Brown, Bobby DelVecchio, Etbauer Brothers, Bill Feddersen, Bob Feist, John McBeth, Gene McLaughlin and Dennis Reiners. Deceased nominees are: Earl Bascom, O Raymond Knight, Jessie Like, Bud Parker, Rex Dun and Johnny Quintana. Quail Dobbs is the Rodeo Hall of Fame Directors Choice inductee.
Members of the Rodeo Historical Society (RHS) will select four nominees from the living and three from the deceased categories by secret ballot for induction into the prestigious Rodeo Hall of Fame. Only members of the RHS are eligible to vote for inductees. Membership in the RHS is open to the public. Annual membership is $35 per person. If you are not a member of the RHS or know someone who would like to join so they may vote on nominees, please visit our website and click on “Join the Museum.”
Ballots will be mailed in late May and voting will close the first part of June. The Rodeo Hall of Fame ceremony will be held during Rodeo Weekend at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City, Okla., on September 27-28, 2013.

Related Articles
Broc Cresta
Never Forgotten
Broc Cresta: The Legend Lives On
Untitled design-14
5 Things J.D. Yates Did to Raise a Winner in Trey
Steer sitting in the chute getting the horn wrap taken off.
Make Your Steers Last Longer
Editor's Note
Editor's Note: Star Power
Image placeholder title
Get the Edge In Your Roping with Jake Barnes