2020 Resistol Rookies to be Crowned Despite NFR Changes

Resistol Rookies are to be crowned for the 2020 ProRodeo campaign.

Resistol Rookie Title Update

Each year, cowboys and -girls anticipate purchasing their PRCA and WPRA cards, when a handful of them will mark the box declaring it their Resistol Rookie year.

[SHOP: Resistol]

Resistol Brazos Men’s Cowboy Hat

Resistol Men’s 5X Challenger Hat

RESISTOL Men’s Wildfire Hat

(As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through affiliate links.)

The 2020 ProRodeo season has been one for the history books with rodeos being postponed, canceled or continuing their traditions without spectators due to the recent pandemic. But, despite this year’s challenges, Resistol plans to award the rookies their once-in-a-lifetime titles. 

“This isn’t something that we would ever put off or postpone,” said Mary Jane Carpenter, Resistol’s director of marketing. “We will definitely crown the rookies this year and give them the recognition they deserve. We’re grateful that the PRCA wants to crown World Champions, and we definitely want to continue crowning Resistol Rookies, no matter what the season looks like. They may not have had as many opportunities, but they have worked all year and deserve this recognition.”

Resistol understands how challenging the rookie year can be for ProRodeo newcomers stepping up and showcasing their talents amongst some of the world’s greatest rodeo athletes, and thought the year-end champions deserved more. 

“I was in the stands one year, years ago and thought, ‘How cool is this award. It deserves so much more recognition than it’s getting,'” Carpenter explained. “That spurred the idea of creating a big banquet and adding more awards, inviting the families and friends and letting them see what a big honor this is because it’s a once-in-a-lifetime award. We really think that they deserve the recognition, and it’s a title they carry throughout their careers. A very high percentage of the Rookies go on to be NFR contestants and World Champions.”

Having awarded rookie champions for more than 30 years, Resistol is in the process of planning its Resistol Rookie Luncheon, usually held at the South Point Hotel in Las Vegas during the NFR. They are currently waiting for the PRCA to release its NFR plans so they can finalize their own plans for the event. 

“With the NFR move, we are in the planning stages now of awarding them like we do every year,” Carpenter said. “With the limited number of events, I know that it’s been a huge challenge. I know a lot of them really counted on this year being their rookie year and having their normal, regular season, but it’s not normal. It is what it is. The neat thing is those that do win can say that they were a part of history. It will be a really exciting year. We commend them for hanging in there this year and competing at the same level that they would any other year.”

Resistol Rookies not only receive the once-in-a-lifetime title, but are also awarded a full prize line to take home and remind them of their accomplishments. 

“We do custom hats with their names in the hats,” Carpenter said. “They get a trophy Cactus saddle. They get trophy buckles. They get a bonus from the PRCA. They get trophy jackets and the recognition.”

Resistol Rookie Heading Standings as of Aug. 26

  1. Britt Smith, $16,624.37
  2. Tanner Tomlinson, $14,755.99
  3. Coy Rahlmann, $8,668.59
  4. Lathen Bryant, $5,119.72
  5. Ryan Pope, $4,476.42
  6. Jaxson Tucker, $4,157.14
  7. Whit Harper, $2,891.67
  8. Lane Stock, $2,556.53
  9. Kade Smith, $2,479.30
  10. Jack Graham, $2,065.64

Resistol Rookie Heeling Standings as of Aug. 26

1. Clay Futrell, $27,491.09

2. Zak Dobbins, $7,047.87

3. Eddie Medina, $5,677.60

4. Tanner McInerney, $4,616.11

5. Jared Fillmore, $3,583.05

6. Blaine Courson, $3,313.29

7. Bradley Johnson, $3,175.30

8. Abdiel Zamora, $2,246.17

9. Joshua Smitherman, $2,246.15

10. Matt Schieck, $1,628.09

What did you think of this article?

Thank you for your feedback!