Denison and Mitchell Pick Up Steam After Westcliffe and Pretty Prairie Wins
Cyle Denison and Lane Mitchell added $3,664 to their PRCA earnings with two wins.

Louisiana’s Cyle Denison and Tennessee’s Lane Mitchell won $3,664 each after winning the Westcliffe (Colorado) Stampede Rodeo and splitting the win at Kansas’ Largest Night Rodeo in Pretty Prairie, Kansas. 

Denison and Mitchell roped their steer in Westcliffe in 4.9 seconds, worth $1,567 a man, and they tied Casey Hicks and Steve Orth with a 5.0-second run in Pretty Prairie, adding $2,097 to each man’s earnings.

“Last week was a pretty slow week,” Denison, 21, said. “It was good to get some money in our earnings and money in our pockets. We needed to win. We went to two good rodeos and drew two good steers and used them.”

[SHOP: PRCA Sponsors]


Justin Boots Men’s 11-Inch Bent Rail Riding Boot

Cinch Men’s Classic Fit Long Sleeve Button Solid Shirt

(As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through affiliate links.)

Denison headed on a 13-year-old mare that he has ridden since junior high he calls Beyoncé.

“She’s the best one that I’ve got,” Denison said. “She scores super good, and she’s super easy. I know what’s going on every time I back in the box. She’s going to hit the corner and stand there as long as I need her to and she’s going to run and let me rope. She’s going to do her job and all I have to do is sit up there and do mine.” 


Denison is now 25th in the PRCA world standings and Mitchell is 26th with $16,724.11 each.

“I’m in a lot better spot than what I have been in previous years,” Denison said. “In previous years I didn’t have much luck, period, and I hadn’t won very much money. I just need to keep winning and see what happens.” 

Buckle Up: Cyle Denison’s 2016 CPRA Year End Buckle

Cyle Denison. Kaitlin Gustave Photo

Full Results: 

Stanford, Mont. 1. Derick Fleming/Ike Folsom, 4.5 seconds, $1,227 each; 2. Brady Tryan/Jesse Hines, 5.1, $1,015; 3. Brenten Hall/Chase Tryan, 5.5, $804; 4. Dustin Bird/Sid Sporer, 5.6, $592; 5. Delon Parker/Ryan Zurcher, 5.8, $381; 6. Caden Camp/Shane Bessette, 6.0, $212.

Woodstown Pilesgrove, N.J. 1. David Ballantyne/J.R. Wenger, 6.8 seconds, $970 each; 2. Eric Fabian/Derek Carey, 8.2, $728; 3. Chuck Smith/Kevin Brown, 8.7, $485; 4. Lance Hower/Brock Hower, 9.3, $243.

Mesquite, Texas 1. Jake Orman/Dustin Davis, 4.8 seconds, $872 each; 2. (tie) Lane Ivy/Dillon Wingereid and Britt Smith/Jake Smith, 5.0, $647 each; 4. Cody McCluskey/Kory Koontz, 5.3, $421; 5. Jason Burson/Corey Hendrick, 5.9, $271; 6. Gavin Foster/Bradley Johnson, 6.2, $150.

Westcliffe, Colo. 1. Cyle Denison/Lane Mitchell, 4.9 seconds, $1,567 each; 2. Kaleb Driggers/Cory Petska, 5.0, $1,297; 3. Lee Kiehne/Ryon Tittel, 5.3, $1,027; 4. (tie) Paul Beckett/Jayden Johnson and Chad Masters/Wesley Thorp, 5.5, $622 each; 6. (tie) Jonathan Torres/Joshua Torres and Nelson Wyatt/Levi Lord, 5.7, $135 each.

Nephi, Utah 1. Zane Barnson/Cole Wilson, 4.2 seconds, $1,980 each; 2. (tie) Pace Freed/Dustin Searcy and Casey Tew/Jared Fillmore, 4.7, $1,593 each; 4. Tanner Baldwin/Nano Garza, 4.8, $1,205; 5. (tie) Erich Rogers/Paden Bray and Rhen Richard/Jeremy Buhler, 5.1, $818 each; 7. (tie) Brenten Hall/Chase Tryan, Dylin Ahlstrom/Caleb Hendrix and Clint Kap/Dan Scarbrough, 5.4, $201 each.

Pretty Prairie, Kan. 1. (tie) Casey Hicks/Steve Orth and Cyle Denison/Lane Mitchell, 5.0 seconds, $2,097 each; 3. (tie) Andrew Ward/Buddy Hawkins II and Jaguar Terrill/Tyler Whitlow, 5.5, $1,512 each; 5. (tie) Jhett Trenary/Bret Trenary and Seth Driggers/Trent Vaught, 5.7, $926 each; 7. Shad Mayfield/Garrett Busby, 5.8, $488; 8. Curry Kirchner/Chad Mathes, 6.0, $195.

Forsyth, Mont. 1. Clay Tryan/Jared Bilby, 5.1 seconds, $1,431 each; 2. Brenten Hall/Chase Tryan, 5.5, $1,184; 3. Brent McInerney/Tanner McInerney, 5.6, $938; 4. Travis Stovall/John Bell, 6.0, $691; 5. Radley Day/Taylor Williams, 6.1, $444; 6. (tie) Miles Kobold/Chase Gauger and Greg Goggins/Dustin Ostrum, 6.8, $123 each.

Related Articles
Jennifer and Hali Williams
moms make the world go 'round
The Unsung Superhero of Team Williams
38 Down, 12 To Go
It's Official: NFR in Las Vegas through 2035
Clay Trayn roping
i did it my way
Clay Tryan Walks Away
Stephen Britnell heeling a steer to win Round 1 of 2023 WCRA Rodeo Carolina.
counting down
Nominations Closing for 2024 WCRA Stampede at The E
Braxton and Brad Culpepper_Performance3_IFR2023_DarlenaRoberts
IPRA update
IFR 54 Team Roping Roster