so close

Projections: 2023 NFR Round 9 Cheat Sheet
Andrew Ward and Hawkins remain projected world champs after Round 8.

The 2023 NFR marathon is almost over, but it’s still heating up. We’ve seen snakebit teams get on a roll in the last half of the Finals. We saw a three-way tie in Round 7, and a world-record-tying run of 3.3 in Round 8. The race for the gold buckle is getting crazy as the gaps continue to close. Here’s how it’s looking.

Payout refresher

The payout of the 2023 NFR is record-breaking, paying $30,706 per man for a round win and $78,747 per man for the average. Here’s a refresher on this year’s round and average payouts.

2023 NFR payout per round 

  • 1st place: $30,706 per man
  • 2nd: $24,268
  • 3rd: $18,325
  • 4th: $12,877
  • 5th: $7,924
  • 6th: $4,953

2023 NFR average payout

  1. $78,747 per man
  2. $63,889
  3. $50,517
  4. $37,145
  5. $26,744
  6. $19,315
  7. $13,372
  8. $7,429

With two rounds left, the most a team could win in the rounds is $61,412, if they win Rounds 9 and 10. Between the average and the remaining rounds, the maximum amount a team could win—if they were to win Round 9, 10 and the average—is $140,159.

What do the world standings look like after Round 8?

Clint Summers$227,074.61 Wesley Thorp$244,061.04
Tyler Wade$226,833.77Jake Long$240,575.85
Andrew Ward219,856.02Buddy Hawkins$219,856.02
Nelson Wyatt$201,390.45Hunter Koch$196,404.84
Luke Brown$196,404.84 Colter Todd$195,639.89
Kaleb Driggers$193,174.33Junior Nunes Nogueira$193,174.33
Dustin Egusquiza$190,445.48Levi Lord$190,445.48
Coleman Proctor$187,070.71Logan Medlin$187,070.72
Derrick Begay$180,472.69Jeremy Buhler$179,048.30
Clay Smith$180,180.11Paden Bray$175,581.42
Rhen Richard$179,048.30Paul Eaves$173,588.24
Erich Rogers$173,236.92Patrick Smith$159,907.66
Tanner Tomlinson$159,907.66Jonathan Torres$151,216.27
Marcus Theriot$140,888.89Cole Curry$133,712.06
Jake Clay$136,871.50Tyler Worley$130,727.46

And what about the average?

Derrick Begay and Colter Todd remain the only team with eight steers caught. Begay is $46,601.92 behind Summers, who leads the heading world standings, and Todd is $48,421.15 behind Thorp at No. 1 on the heel side.

  1. Derrick Begay / Colter Todd, 60.7/8
  2. Andrew Ward / Buddy Hawkins, 35.4/7
  3. Luke Brown / Hunter Koch, 40.7/7
  4. Tyler Wade / Wesley Thorp, 50/7
  5. Nelson Wyatt / Jonathan Torres, 59.1/7
  6. Clay Smith / Paden Bray, 30/6
  7. Clint Summers / Jake Long, 33.8/6
  8. Tanner Tomlinson / Patrick Smith, 46.2/6
  9. Rhen Richard / Jeremy Buhler , 50.8/6
  10. Kaleb Driggers / Junior Nunes Nogueira, 31.4/5
  11. Erich Rogers / Paul Eaves, 31.4/5
  12. Marcus Theriot / Cole Curry, 33/5
  13. Dustin Egusquiza / Levi Lord, 26.3/4
  14. Jake Clay / Tyler Worley, 31.7/4
  15. Coleman Proctor / Logan Medlin, 45.1/4

If the Finals ended after Round 8, who would win the world?

Andrew Ward $283,745.21 Buddy Hawkins$283,745.21 
Tyler Wade $263,978.69 Wesley Thorp$281,205.96 
Derrick Begay $259,219.41 Colter Todd$274,386.61 
Marcus Theriot $252,817.55 Jake Long$253,946.57 
Luke Brown $246,920.47 Hunter Koch$246,920.47 
Clint Summers $240,445.33 Paden Bray$194,895.62 
Nelson Wyatt $228,135.21 Junior Nunes Nogueira$193,173.53
Clay Smith $199,494.54 Levi Lord$190,444.99 
Kaleb Driggers $193,173.53 Logan Medlin$187,070.42 
Dustin Egusquiza $190,444.99 Jeremy Buhler$179,047.95 
Coleman Proctor $187,070.42 Jonathan Torres$177,961.03 
Rhen Richard $179,047.95 Paul Eaves$173,587.95 
Erich Rogers $173,236.63 Patrick Smith$167,336.98 
Tanner Tomlinson $167,336.98 Cole Curry$133,711.72
Jake Clay $136,871.21 Tyler Worley$130,727.17
Related Articles
March_24_2023_NFR_R05_TR_Tyler Wade_Wesley Thorp_HRae_002
Standing on Business
Forged From the Fire of Humble Beginnings
Feb_24_2023_NFR_R09_TR_Tyler Wade_Wesley Thorp_HRae_009
Dear Roper
Here's to More in '24: An Inside Look at the February 2024 Issue
Tyler Wade team roping
a look back
Five of Our Favorite Moments from the 2023 NFR
R8 Wade Thorp Action Photos-9
who's winning?
Final: 2023 NFR Team Roping Results
Tyler Wade Wesley Thorp
the champs
2023 World Champs Tyler Wade and Wesley Thorp, and Average Champs Derrick Begay and Colter Todd