Rogers and Bray Catch Fire Over Fourth
Erich Rogers and Paden Bray are a the team to watch as the Cowboy Christmas run continues.

The 2017 World Champion Header Erich Rogers and the 2019 Resistol Rookie of the Year Paden Bray are currently the team to watch as the Cowboy Christmas run continues. 

They began turning heads at the World’s Oldest Rodeo in Prescott, Arizona were they went 12.2 on two head, which is currently tied for third in the average. Rogers and Bray are currently tied for third with Pedro Egurrola and Trevor Nowlin and Garrett Rogers and Jake Minor with a 4.7-second run at the Mandan (North Dakota) Rodeo Days and are leading the pack at the Cody (Wyoming) Stampede with a 4.8-second run.

Paden Bray at the Black Hills Roundup in Belle Fourche, South Dakota. Kaitlin Gustave Photo

Behind the 2019 Resistol Rookie Heeler of the Year: Paden Bray 

Square Shoulders, Level Loop with Paden Bray

“We started off at Prescott and did good there,” Bray said. “Honestly, we’ve been drawing on the better end of them. We didn’t draw very good at Belle (Fourche) or Oakley (Utah), but we did draw pretty good at Cody (Wyoming), Mandan (North Dakota) and Prescott. We’ve been drawing up in the good arena conditions and drawing on the better end of the steers. I haven’t done anything spectacular—good steers and great setups. My partner has done a really good job.”

When Bray compares his Fourth run in 2019 to this year’s current run he would say that it’s shaping up to be the exact same. 

“Last year I think we won $17,000 over the Fourth. Last year we caught a lot of steers and kind of did the same thing, but other than I messed up at Ponoka—had a little learning experience there. We’ve caught a lot of steers. That’s kind of what we do. We catch a lot of steers, and we hit good at a couple places. That’s what starstruck me last year is how many steers Erich turned and how many we caught.

[SHOP: Gear that’s Bray-Approved]

Classic Rope Glove

Powerline Lite HM by Classic

(As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through affiliate links.)

“Our game plan stays pretty much the same. We like to catch a lot of steers and we’ve been clean everywhere we’ve been so far. Erich always gets out the barrier good and spins me steers. We just like to catch and if we stick to our run, usually it works or its good enough. Sometimes we won’t win first or we won’t place very high up there but we usually catch a lot of steers.”

Rogers has been on Boogie Man (13) everywhere except for Mandan (North Dakota), where he rode his bay gelding, Hot Shot. Bray has his 17-year-old dun gelding, Hugh Hefner and 12-year-old sorrel gelding, Slider, back on the road with him with hope of finishing he year in the the top 15 in the PRCA world standings. 

Paden Bray’s Slider

“I have the same two horses—my dun and Slider. I rode them last year and I’m riding them this year again. Both of them are outstanding for me. I rode my dun horse at Oakley (City, Utah) and Cody (Wyoming) and I rode my sorrel horse at Belle (Fourche, South Dakota), Mandan (North Dakota) and Prescott (Arizona). They’ve both worked outstanding.”

Rogers and Bray are currently 20th in the PRCA world standings with $14,346.71 each.

Short Memories with Erich Rogers

Current Results: 

Prescott, Ariz. First round leaders: 1. Curry Kirchner/Chad Mathes, 5.5 seconds; 2. (tie) Erich Rogers/Paden Bray and Derrick Begay/Ty Romo, 5.6 each; 4. Charly Crawford/Logan Medlin, 5.7; 5. Nick Sartain/Blaine Vick, 5.9; 6. Clay Tryan/Jake Long, 6.0. Second round leaders: 1. Joshua Torres/Jonathan Torres, 5.6 seconds; 2. J.D. Yates/Cullen Teller, 5.7; 3. (tie) Pedro Egurrola/Trevor Nowlin and Edward Hawley Jr./Myles John, 5.8 each; 5. Clay Tryan/Jake Long, 5.9; 6. (tie) Nelson Wyatt/Levi Lord and Spencer Mitchell/Cesar de la Cruz, 6.2 each. Average leaders: 1. Clay Tryan/Jake Long, 11.9 seconds on two head; 2. Edward Hawley Jr./Myles John, 12.0; 3. (tie) Erich Rogers/Paden Bray and Charly Crawford/Logan Medlin, 12.2 each; 5. J.D. Yates/Cullen Teller, 12.3; 6. Nelson Wyatt/Levi Lord, 13.0; no other qualified runs.

Abbyville, Kan. 1. Cale Markham/Cody Doescher, 5.6 seconds; 2. Blake Hughes/Jim Ross Cooper, 5.9; 3. Trevor Howard/Cody Heflin, 8.4; 4. A.J. Horton/Kyle Horton, 10.2; 5. Daniel Durkes/J.R. Williams, 13.5; 6. Troy Boone/Aaron Paul, 20.8.

Roundup, Mont. 1. Shawn Bessette/Matt Robertson, 4.6 seconds; 2. Dustin Bird/Sid Sporer, 4.8; 3. Taylor Winn/Kycen Winn, 5.1; 4. Radley Day/Taylor Williams, 5.3; 5. Clay Ullery/Tyce McLeod, 5.8; 6. Travis Tryan/Justin Viles, 10.0.

Killdeer, N.D. 1. Rhett Anderson/Austin Rogers, 4.8 seconds; 2. Kaleb Driggers/Cory Petska, 5.2; 3. Kal Fuller/Reagan Ward, 5.3; 4. Jade Stoddard/Cole Cooper, 5.9; 5. Jase Staudt/Clancey Kreutzer, 6.1; 6. Cory Smothers/Brandon Gonzales, 6.3.

Mandan, N.D. 1. Tyler Wade/Billie Jack Saebens, 4.2 seconds; 2. Jaguar Terrill/Tyler Whitlow, 4.4; 3. (tie) Erich Rogers/Paden Bray, Pedro Egurrola/Trevor Nowlin and Garrett Rogers/Jake Minor, 4.7 each; 6. Doyle Hoskins/Monty Joe Petska, 4.9.

Mobridge, S.D. 1. Nelson Wyatt/Levi Lord, 4.5 seconds; 2. Rhett Anderson/Austin Rogers, 4.7; 3. Tanner Baldwin/Nano Garza, 4.8; 4. Colby Lovell/Paul Eaves, 5.2; 5. Aaron Tsinigine/Kyle Lockett, 5.4; 6. Lane Goebel/J.W. Beck, 5.7.

Belton, Texas 1. Ty Arnold/Eddie Medina, 4.8 seconds; 2. Jake Clay/Martin Lucero, 5.3; 3. Zach Kilgus/Boogie Ray, 8.0; 4. Mason Boettcher/Seth Jones, 9.8; no other qualified runs.

Oakley City, Utah 1. Charly Crawford/Logan Medlin, 4.0 seconds; 2. Colby Lovell/Paul Eaves, 4.2; 3. (tie) Kolton Schmidt/Hunter Koch and Hagen Peterson/Jace Nielsen, 4.6 each; 5. Levi Simpson/Shay Dixon Carroll, 4.8; 6. (tie) Steven Duby/Jason Duby, Cory Smothers/Brandon Gonzales, Tanner Tomlinson/Brady Norman and Chad Masters/Wesley Thorp, 5.0 each.

Belle Fourche, S.D. 1. Levi Simpson/Shay Dixon Carroll, 4.5 seconds; 2. (tie) Kolton Schmidt/Hunter Koch and Lane Ivy/Dillon Wingereid, 4.9 each; 4. Garrett Rogers/Jake Minor, 5.0; 5. Clay Tryan/Jake Long, 5.1; 6. (tie) Cody Snow/Junior Nogueira and Tanner Tomlinson/Brady Norman, 5.2 each.

Cody, Wyo. 1. Erich Rogers/Paden Bray, 4.8 seconds; 2. Chase Massengill/Lane Siggins, 4.9; 3. (tie) Clay Tryan/Jake Long, Cory Kidd V/Clay Futrell and Nelson Wyatt/Levi Lord, 5.1 each; 6. (tie) Tate Kirchenschlager/Ross Ashford and Jeff Flenniken/Tyler Worley, 5.3 each.

Related Articles
2024_Guymon Pioneer Days_1st Go_Team Roping_Dustin Egusquiza_Levi Lord heeling_7
back on top
Levi Lord Joins Dustin Egusquiza at Top of 2024 World Standings
Tyler Tryan heading a steer for Denton Dunning to win second at the 2024 Sisters Rodeo in Sisters, Oregon.
mic drop
Tyler Tryan Skyrockets to No. 2 in 2024 Resistol Rookie of the Year Standings
WSG - link preview with lines and logo-85
sibling power
Thomas Brothers Set Sights on 2024 Resistol Rookie of the Year Titles
Ben Jordan and Scott Luauki put a proper warmup on their 2024 PRCA Rookie season with a solid start at Denver’s National Western Stock Show & Rodeo.
Other Gig
This Residential Service Operator is a Rookie
Korbin Rice and Caleb Hendrix roping a muley to win the 2024 Clovis Rode.
the muleys
Korbin Rice and Caleb Hendrix Crack Out for 2024 Summer with Clovis Rodeo Win