Stock Showing Off

The PRCA and AQHA announced professional rodeo’s top American Quarter Horses in October and the repeats were the theme.

Both team roping horses, Tryavis Tryan’s Precious Speck, or “Walt,” and Randon Adams’s Baileys Cooper Doc, or “Diesel,” won the award last year. Diesel also won the honor in 2006, while Walt won it previously in 2003.

Tryan notched wins in Pecos, Texas, Innisfail, Alberta and Red Lodge, Mont., en route to jockeying for the lead in the Crusher Rentals World Standings all year.

Adams, who also bounced in and out of the lead in the standings during the regular season, took top honors in Oakley, Utah, Logandale, Nev., Fort Worth, Texas, and-most recently-the Omaha stop of the Ariat Playoffs.

Greg Cassidy’s RTR Little Willy finally won the long overdue Steer Wrestling Horse of the Year Award. The 22-year-old has taken three different cowboys to world titles-Rope Myers, Lee Graves and Jason Miller-and will carry three cowboys-Curtis Cassidy, Luke Branquinho and Jason Miller-at the Wrangler NFR this year.

In the barrel racing, Lindsay Sears’s Sugar Moon Express, who she calls “Martha,” took top honors. Martha was a solid horse until last year, when Sears switched her to taking the left barrel first, when she became an exceptional horse. Then she all but propelled Sears to a world title at her second NFR. This year, Sears has lead the world standings nearly all year long and won RodeoHouston, the Calgary Stampede, Cheyenne Frontier Days and the Omaha stop of the Ariat Playoffs.

Meanwhile, Justin Maass continued his string of equine awards by tying for the top spot for the calf horse of the year. Last year, Maass won with a horse named Flip, this year, Acre Te Run, or “Oz,” split the win with Dual Sonny Dee, or “Dually,” owned by Priscilla Pipken and ridden by first-time Wrangler NFR qualifier Jerrad Hofstetter.

Maass won the Greeley (Colo.) Stampede and the Lawton (Okla.) Rangers Rodeo on Oz while Hofstetter rode Dually to wins in Rapid City and Billings.

In the steer roping, Dan Fisher’s Larneds Ricoche Doc, or “Woody,” and Paul Patton’s “Happy” tied for the honor.

Horses are awarded based on votes from the top 30 contestants in each event as of Sept. 1.

Related Articles
Broc Cresta
Never Forgotten
Broc Cresta: The Legend Lives On
Untitled design-14
5 Things J.D. Yates Did to Raise a Winner in Trey
Steer sitting in the chute getting the horn wrap taken off.
Make Your Steers Last Longer
Editor's Note
Editor's Note: Star Power
Image placeholder title
Get the Edge In Your Roping with Jake Barnes