Back in Calgary: 2023 Rocky Mountain Cup Results and What to Know
How the 2023 Rocky Mountain Cup works, and who is set to rope June 12.
Logan Medlin

After a successful year in 2022, the team ropers are back in Calgary, Alberta, June 12 for the 2023 Rocky Mountain Cup—and Coleman Proctor and Logan Medlin are now $13,518 a man richer for it.

Proctor and Medlin roped their final steer in 6.6 seconds in the sudden-death round of four to win the title, plus the duo placed in the first round with a 5.6 to earn the payday that pushes them even deeper into the Top 15 world-standings mix.

In the same fashion as the Calgary Stampede, the roster is set off invitation with 30 teams invited to compete for the $100,000 purse: the top 15 headers and heelers from the 2022 PRCA World Standings, top five headers and heelers from the 2022 CPRA standings and the top 10 headers and heelers from the current PRCA standings (as of May 9, 2023).

The Rocky Mountain Cup will begin at 6:30 p.m. (MST) with two complete go-rounds. The top eight in the average after the first two go-rounds advance to the semifinals, and the top four from the semifinals move on to the clean-slate Showdown round.


Chad Masters Cedar Hill, TN Trey Yates Pueblo, CO 
2Brenten Hall Jay, OK Paden Bray Stephenville, TX 
3Erich Rogers Round Rock, AZ Paul Eaves Lonedell, MO 
4Tanner James Porterville, CA Clay Clayman Highlandville, MO 
5Trey Gallais Canada, AB Tristin Woolsey Nanton, AB 
6Nelson Wyatt Clanton, AL Cole Curry Liberty, MS 
7Luke Brown Rock Hill, SC Hunter Koch Vernon, TX 
Kaleb Driggers Hoboken, GA Junior Nogueira Presidente Prudente, SP 
Cory Kidd Statesville, NC Kaden Profili Jacksonville, TX 
10 Cole Thomas Emelle, AL Clay Green Pine Grove, LA 
11Kash Bonnett Ponoka, AB Caleb Hendrix Fallon, NV 
12 Dustin Egusquiza Marianna, FL Levi Lord Sturgis, SD 
13 Aaron Tsinigine Tuba City, AZ Ryan Motes Weatherford, TX 
14Rhen Richard Roosevelt, UT Jeremy Buhler Arrowwood, AB 
15 Kreece Thompson Munday, TX Tyson Thompson Munday, TX 
16 Joshua Torres Stephenville, TX Evan Arnold Stephenville, TX 
17 Derrick Begay Seba Dalkai, AZ Jake Long Coffeyville, KS 
18 Coleman Proctor Pryor, OK Logan Medlin Tatum, NM 
19Lightning Aguilera Athens, TX Jonathan Torres Ocala, FL 
20 Jake Orman Prairie, MS Corey Hendrick Bedias, TX
21 J.C. Yeahquo Mandaree, ND L.J. Yeahquo Mandaree, ND 
22 Tyler Wade Terrell, TX Wesley Thorp Throckmorton, TX 
23 Dawson Graham Wainwright, AB Dillon Graham Wainwright, AB 
24 Braden Pirrung Hartford, SD Michael Jones Town Creek, AL 
25Logan Bonnett Ponoka, AB Keely Bonnett Ponoka, AB 
26Tanner Tomlinson Angleton, TX Patrick Smith Lipan, TX 
27 Jr Dees Aurora, SD Ross Ashford Lott, TX 
28Clinton Buhler Nanton, ABBrett McCarroll Camrose, AB 


First round: 1. Kaleb Driggers/Junior Nogueira, 5.1 seconds, $2,128 each; 2. (tie) Kreece Thompson/Tyson Thompson and Lightning Aguilera/Jonathan Torres, 5.2, $1,711 each; 4. Chad Masters/Trey Yates, 5.4, $1,295; 5. Coleman Proctor/Logan Medlin, 5.6, $1,018; 6. Clint Buhler/Brett McCarroll, 6.4, $740; 7. Brenten Hall/Paden Bray, 6.6, $363; 8. Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp, 6.8, $185. 

Second round: 1. (tie) Braden Pirrung/Morgan Jones and Aaron Tsinigine/Ryan Motes, 4.3 seconds, $1,989 each; 3. Dawson Graham/Dillon Graham, 4.4, $1,573; 4. Logan Bonnett/Keely Bonnett, 4.8, $1,295; 5. (tie) Lightning Aguilera/Jonathan Torres, 5.2, $879 each; 7. Tanner James/Clay Clayman, 5.5, $463; 8. Cole Thomas/Clay Green, 5.6, $185. 

Semifinals: 1. Coleman Proctor/Logan Medlin, 4.2 seconds; 2. Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp; 3. (tie) Luke Brown/Hunter Koch and Cole Thomas/Clay Green; 5. Clint Buhler/Brett McCarroll, 5.0, $1,000; 6. Chad Masters/Trey Yates, 10.0, $1,000; 7. Kreece Thompson/Tyson Thompson and Lightning Aguilera/Jonathan Torres, NT, $1,000. 

Finals: 1. Coleman Proctor/Logan Medlin, 6.6 seconds, $12,500 each; 2. Cole Thomas/Clay Green, 10.3, $7,500; 3. Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp, NT, $5,000; 4. Luke Brown/Hunter Koch, NT, $2,500.

Related Articles
Riley Kittle and Jace Helton roping their steer in the Progressive Round of the 2023 Rodeo Corpus Christi. Image courtesy WCRA by Bull Stock Media.
Carolina in my mind
WCRA's Rodeo Carolina Roster is Set
Jonathan Torres heeling a steer at the 2023 Pendleton Round-Up.
headed north
Sioux Falls to Determine 2023 NFR Field
Chad Masters and Trey Yates roping their steer at the 2023 New Mexico State Fair & Rodeo in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
Ah, ha, ha, ha, stayin' alive
Staying Alive: Major 2023 World Standings Shuffle After Pendleton 
Derrick Begay and Colter Todd taking their victory lap at the 2023 Pendleton Round-Up.
from retirement to round-up
Right Where they Belong: Begay, Todd Win 2023 Pendleton Round-Up
Kassandra Shoemaker competing at the Black Hills Championship Steer Roping in Wall, South Dakota.
Breaking glass ceilings
Kassandra Shoemaker Makes Steer Roping History