welcome to west texas

Shay Carroll and Jace Helton Win 2024 San Angelo Rodeo Team Roping: Results and More
Results and more for the 2024 San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo team roping.
Shay Carroll and Jace Helton won the 2024 San Angelo Rodeo title. | Andersen/CBarC Photography

The San Angelo Stock Show & Rodeo is back in the heart of West Texas and kicked off with the timed event slack Tuesday, April 2, 2024. With a purse of $90,000 ($45,000 for both ends), the performances run April 5-19.

The San Angelo Rodeo prides itself on being a permit max event that welcomes both PRCA Card and Permit Holders, calling themselves the launching pad for rodeo athlete’s careers.

Friday, April 19, Shay Carroll and Jace Helton took home the 2024 title with a 13.9 seconds on three steers. All in all, they pocketed $9,692 a man during their trip.

San Angelo Rodeo format

San Angelo is a back-to-back, two-round format (either roping twice in slack or in back-to-back performances) with the top 12 times on two head getting invited back for the clean slate finals Friday, April 19, 2024.

2024 San Angelo Rodeo team roping results

First round

1. Dustin Egusquiza/Levi Lord, 3.8 seconds, $5,721 each; 2. (tie) Brenten Hall/Kaden Profili and Tanner Tomlinson/Patrick Smith, 4.0, $4,602 each; 4. (tie) Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp and Brady Tryan/Calgary Smith, 4.1, $3,109 each; 6. (tie) Devon Johnson/Boogie Ray, Max Kuttler/Cashton Weidenbener and Luke Brown/Travis Graves, 4.2, $1,244 each.

Second round

1. (tie) Derrick Begay/Colter Todd and Dustin Egusquiza/Levi Lord, 3.6 seconds, $5,348 each; 3. Chace Thompson/Chad Williams, 3.7, $4,229; 4. (tie) J.C. Yeahquo/Buddy Hawkins II, Coleman Proctor/Logan Medlin and Jake Clay/Trey Yates, 3.8, $2,736 each; 7. Mason Appleton/Cooper Freeman, 3.9, $1,244; 8. (tie) Wade Smith/Zach Varian, Slade Wood/Nathan Walker and Billy Bob Brown/Josh Patton, 4.0, $166 each.


1. Cash Duty/Ross Ashford, 4.2 seconds, $1,380 each; 2. (tie) Shay Dixon Carroll/Jace Helton and Curry Kirchner/Jake Edwards, 4.5, $1,110 each; 4. Andrew Ward/Kollin VonAhn, 4.9, $840; 5. Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp, 5.3, $660; 6. Cory Kidd V/Tanner Braden, 6.0, $480; no other qualified runs. 


1. Shay Dixon Carroll/Jace Helton, 13.9 seconds on three head, $8,582 each; 2. Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp, 14.2, $7,462; 3. Cash Duty/Ross Ashford, 14.3, $6,343; 4. Cory Kidd V/Tanner Braden, 14.4, $5,224; 5. Andrew Ward/Kollin VonAhn, 14.6, $4,104; 6. Curry Kirchner/Jake Edwards, 15.5, $2,985; 7. Dustin Egusquiza/Levi Lord, 7.4 on two head, $1,866; 8. James Arviso/JR Gonzalez, 8.7, $746.

2024 San Angelo Rodeo team roping short round list

  • Billy Bob Brown / Josh Patton                
  • Curry Kirchner / Jake Edwards
  • Brye Crites / Tyler Worley
  • Cash Duty / Ross Ashford       
  • Devon Johnson / Boogie Ray
  • Brenten Hall / Kaden Profili   
  • Andrew Ward / Kollin VonAhn
  • Shay Carroll / Jace Helton
  • Tyler Wade / Wesley Thorp     
  • James Arviso / JR Gonzalez   
  • Cory Kidd / Tanner Braden      
  • Dustin Egusquiza / Levi Lord

Who won the 2023 San Angelo Rodeo team roping?

In 2023, brothers J.C. and L.J. Yeahquo won the San Angelo Rodeo team roping title. They roped three steers in 12.3 seconds for the win.

Related Articles
Jaxson Tucker turning a steer for Jason Johe at the 2024 Redding Rodeo
ProRodeo Circuits Pick Up Ahead of 2024 Summer
Guymon 24 10 (391) dustin egusquiza levi lord 3rd go 8
to the top
Dustin Egusquiza and Levi Lord Continue to Dominate 2024, Climbing to No. 1 and 2 in the World Standings
Guymon 24 10 (391) dustin egusquiza levi lord 3rd go 8
The Short Score: Guymon Champs
Caleb Hendrix heeling a steer to win the 2024 Clovis Rodeo.
spring time
Who’s Winning Where at the ProRodeos This Week?
Korbin Rice and Caleb Hendrix roping a muley to win the 2024 Clovis Rode.
the muleys
Korbin Rice and Caleb Hendrix Crack Out for 2024 Summer with Clovis Rodeo Win