Photo by James Phifer 

The Lazy E Arena’s Timed Event Championship’s first day saw some major crashes, including one that sent Jojo Lemond to the hospital on a stretcher. 

While we’re awaiting an update on Lemond, we were able to catch up to Landon McClaugherty, who leads the field of the remaining 18 competitors. (Spencer Mitchell will just compete in the team roping after suffering an injury first sustained in the bull dogging in Round 1 but made worse in the tie-down roping in Round 2.)

“There are some tough steers in the bull dogging,” McClaugherty said. “There’s some silly stuff happening. Guys who don’t normally make mistakes. Some guys losing their rope, stuff like that.”

McClaugherty bobbled once missing his trip in Round 2 of the steer roping, but was otherwise smooth on ten head. He’s got to stay smooth, because KC Jones and Daniel Green are right behind him. Both are past Timed Event Champions and have been nothing but consistent in the Lazy E this year. 

“This year they changed the start in the steer wrestling a little bit, making it a little longer,” Green said. “So I had to mentally figure out how much I wanted to let the steer out. I’m just trying to get out on the right foot… I’ve seen events that it’s not the Timed Event, it’s the Iron Man. But not this year… It all depends on who gets what steers and if you stay on the good end of them, it could be really tough.”

AVERAGE LEADERS: 1. Landon McClaugherty, 122.6 on 10 head; 2. K.C. Jones, 129.7; 3. Daniel Green, 130.6; 4. Paul David Tierney, 138.9; 5. Clay Smith, 146.0; 6. Cody Doescher, 155.6; 7. Russell Cardoza, 158.5; 8. Kyle Lockett, 167.7.

ROUND 1: 1. K.C. Jones, 56.7 seconds; 2. Kyle Lockett, 57.2; 3. Daniel Green, 61.1; 4. (tie) Landon McClaugherty and JoJo LeMond, 65.4; 6. Dustin Bird, 66.4. ROUND 2: 1. Russell Cardoza, 54.5 seconds; 2. Trell Etbauer, 56.8; 3. Landon McClaugherty, 57.2; 4. Paul David Tierney, 61.3; 5. Clayton Hass, 61.9; 6. Josh Peek, 64.8.

FASTEST ROUND LEADERS: 1. Russell Cardoza, 54.6 seconds; 2. K.C. Hones, 56.7; 3. Trell Etbauer, 56.8; 4. (tie) Kyle Lockett and Landon McClaugherty, 57.2; 6. Daniel Green, 61.6.