Results: 2023 PAFRA Team Roping World Champions
On Sat. Nov. 4, BJ Garcia and Clint McMurty became the 2023 PAFRA World Championship Team Ropers.
Clint McMurty and BJ Garcia are awarded their PAFRA World Championship buckles.
Left to Right: Jeremy Johnson, Team Roping Director; Clint McMurtry; BJ Garcia; Aaron Auld, PAFRA President. | April McDermid Photography

After three rounds of battle beginning Thursday, Nov. 2, and culminating on Saturday, Nov. 4, in Clovis, New Mexico, the team of BJ Garcia and Clint McMurtry were crowned the 2023 PAFRA World Champion team ropers.

BJ Garcia hits the corner with his steer in tow. | April McDermid Photography

It was a big event for the team, as Garcia and McMurtry also each won the Rookie of the Year title.

The PAFRA World Championship Rodeo is an annual event that, for the first time in 2023, was held in Clovis, New Mexico. The contestants are all members of the Armed Forces and their families, and the event is one that they look forward to year after year.

2023 PAFRA Team Roping Heading Results

World Champion – BJ Garcia
Reserve Champion – Bubba Stewart
Rookie of the Year – BJ Garcia

2023 Team Roping Heeling Results

World Champion – Clint McMurtry
Reserve Champion – Travis Beck
Rookie of the Year – Clint McMurtry

Clint McMurtry
Clint McMurtry gets ready to deliver a World-Championship-worthy heel shot. | April McDermid Photography

For Champions from all events and prior years, visit

More PAFRA stories:

Related Articles
Stephen Britnell heeling a steer to win Round 1 of 2023 WCRA Rodeo Carolina.
counting down
Nominations Closing for 2024 WCRA Stampede at The E
Braxton and Brad Culpepper_Performance3_IFR2023_DarlenaRoberts
IPRA update
IFR 54 Team Roping Roster
A Streak Of Fling
All Hail the King
A Streak Of Fling Makes New Home Lazy E Ranch 
Tyler Worley and Coleby Payne
bomb dropped
Breaking: PRCA Grievance Committee Reverses Decision, Worley Will Rope at 2023 NFR
Stay driven Patrick smith
How Do You Watch Patrick Smith's STAY DRIVEN Video?