Coming Out Swinging

Pennsylvania’s Zane Kilgus, Oklahoma’s Levi Pettigrew Take Round 1 at 2024 Resistol Rookie Roundup
These are the eight teams advancing to Round 2.
Zane Kilgus Levi Pettigrew
Kilgus and Pettigrew stretch one in 6.1 seconds to get the Round 1 Resistol Rookie Roundup win in 2024. | Mickey Owens Photography

Zane Kilgus, the 22-year-old First Frontier Circuit talent, and Levi Pettigrew, the 24-year-old Oklahoma native, survived the gauntlet of Round 1 of the 2024 Resistol Rookie Roundup to win $1,328.98 a man and advance them to Round 2 at the event.

The second round kicks off at 7:30 p.m. April 27 in Cowtown Coliseum, with the top eight from Round 1 running another steer, trying to make the top 4 for the final round to determine the Resistol Rookie Roundup Champion in the same performance.

Kilgus entered the $100,000 event ninth in the Resistol Rookie of the Year standings with $5,572 won on the year, but the win in Round 1 moves him to $6,901, unofficially jumping him to fifth in the heading standings early in the season.

Pettigrew had $2,702 in ProRodeo money to his name, jumping to $4,031 after Round 1 to move from 17th to 15th in the Resistol Rookie of the Year heeling standings.

2024 Resistol Rookie of the Year Standings

Round 1 Resistol Rookie Roundup 2024 Team Roping Results

McCray Profili Colton Johnson 86.5895.56
Zane Kilgus Levi Pettigrew 206.11328.98
Ben Jordan Scott Lauaki 137635.56
Quinton Parchman Justin Delagarza 11
Teagan Bentley Mason Trollinger 6
Jeffrey Kanady Caleb Green 12
Jesse Boos Jace Steenhoek 5
John Jensen Rio Nutter 4
Erik Becenti Shawn Murphy 26.5895.56
Ramiro Gonzalez Corbin Fisher 10
Cash Fretwell Randall Walker 188462.22
Wyatt Allen Colton Allen 1510.8288.89
Koby Sanchez Cameron Graves 176.31155.56
Doyle Yazzie Hiyo Yazzie711.6115.56
Related Articles
Ben Jordan and Scott Luauki put a proper warmup on their 2024 PRCA Rookie season with a solid start at Denver’s National Western Stock Show & Rodeo.
Other Gig
This Residential Service Operator is a Rookie
Korbin Rice and Caleb Hendrix roping a muley to win the 2024 Clovis Rode.
the muleys
Korbin Rice and Caleb Hendrix Crack Out for 2024 Summer with Clovis Rodeo Win
WSG - link preview with lines and logo-50
roping rookies
The Short Score: Weekend for the Resistol Rookies
Ben Jordan Resistol Rookie Roundup
Unconventional Rookie
Ben Jordan, Scott Lauaki Came to Play at Resistol Rookie Roundup, Leave with 2024 Team Roping Title
Zane Kilgus Levi Pettigrew
Champs in the Making
2024 Resistol Rookie Roundup Team Roping Results, Format, How to Watch & More