The No. 1 Episode of The Score in 2022: Derrick Begay, Of Course.
Derrick Begay's podcast episode of The Score is the most-listened-to of 2022. In this podcast, Begay talks about where his career stands.
Derrick Begay at the NFR Open

There’s no doubt about it: Derrick Begay is the fan-favorite, whether he’s rodeoing hard, easing around the Turquoise Circuit or off the grid ranching.

In this episode from April 2022, Derrick Begay, 39, of Seba Dalkai, talks to The Score Host Chelsea Shaffer about where he is in his ProRodeo career, the advice he has for young ropers with a dream and his partnership with Colter Todd.

This episode is brought to you by Bimeda Animal Health.

After this interview, Begay did rodeo with Todd throughout the summer, enough to finish just outside the top 15 on the head side after running out of rodeos the last week of the season. When asked if he’ll retire from rodeo, Begay answered, “I don’t think I’ll ever retire from rodeo.” And we all hope that’s the truth.

Begay’s stats:

  • $1.45 million in career ProRodeo earnings
  • American Rodeo Champion with Clay O’Brien Cooper in 2016
  • 9 NFR qualifications
  • Joined PRCA in 2004
  • Roping in 2023 with Colter Todd
  • Reigning Turquoise Circuit Finals Champion with Todd, will rope at 2023 NFR Open
Related Articles
Black and white photo of Charmayne James team roping with Pam Minick.
THE queen
The One and Only Pam Minick
Patrick Smith waves to the crowd at the 2022 NFR in Las Vegas, Nevada.
team work makes the dream work
The Short Score: Inside "Stay Driven" by Patrick Smith
Derrick Begay and Colter Todd taking their victory lap at the 2023 Pendleton Round-Up.
from retirement to round-up
Right Where they Belong: Begay, Todd Win 2023 Pendleton Round-Up
Jake Barnes and Clay O’Brien Cooper have 56 National Finals Rodeo qualifications and seven NFR average wins between them. They won Rodeo’s Super Bowl together in three different decades—in 1985, 1994 and 2007. Dan Hubbell Photo
almost but not quite
The Short Score: Jake and Clay's Elusive 8th Gold Buckle
Best of the Best
Who *Should Win the 2023 Head Horse of the Year Award?