Who are the Lone Star Shootout Champs Dalton Turner and Daniel Braman?
Dalton Turner and Daniel Braman win $70,000 at thr 2023 Lone Star Shootout.
Dalton Turner and Daniel Braman rope at the 2023 Lone Star Shootout team roping.
Dalton Turner and Daniel Braman got the combined $70,000 win at the Lone Star Shootout in 2023. Image by Jamie Arviso.

The 2023 Lone Star Shootout hosted many of the best teams in the sport at the Lone Star Arena in Stephenville, Texas, with underdogs Dalton Turner and Daniel Braman taking the $70,000 win from ninth callback. Casey Allen, host of our sister podcast The Breakdown, was on-site for the coverage for us all weekend, and she caught up with the champs after their watershed win.

This episode is presented by Professional’s Choice: From the creators of the original sports medicine boot, Professional’s Choice has released a revolution in leg protection, the 2XCool Sports Medicine Boot. Designed around Cooling, Comfort, and Durability, Professional’s Choice has introduced a light weight, ultra-breathable and completely neoprene-free boot. The 2XCool Sports Medicine boot is lined with a technology advanced fabric from Brrr that combines cooling minerals, active wicking, and rapid drying to create the “Triple Chill Effect” that instantly and continuously draws away heat and moisture. Professional’s Choice 2XCool Sports Medicine Boots will keep your horses legs cool, dry, and protected.

Related Articles
Tanner Tomlinson heading a steer for Patrick Smith to win the 2023 Ute Stampede in Nephi, Utah.
the end is upon us
The Short Score: Final Stretch of 2023 ProRodeo Season
Jake and Clay standing on either side of a trophy saddle.
The Short Score: Roping's Evolution
Black and white photo of Charmayne James team roping with Pam Minick.
THE queen
The One and Only Pam Minick
Patrick Smith waves to the crowd at the 2022 NFR in Las Vegas, Nevada.
team work makes the dream work
The Short Score: Inside "Stay Driven" by Patrick Smith
Jake Barnes and Clay O’Brien Cooper have 56 National Finals Rodeo qualifications and seven NFR average wins between them. They won Rodeo’s Super Bowl together in three different decades—in 1985, 1994 and 2007. Dan Hubbell Photo
almost but not quite
The Short Score: Jake and Clay's Elusive 8th Gold Buckle