Winter Rodeo Report: Clay Smith and Jake Long, Andrew Ward and Buddy Hawkins
The Score was at the NWSS and the FWSSR to catch up with the winners, Clay Smith and Jake Long and Andrew Ward and Buddy Hawkins.
Andrew Ward Buddy Hawkins Katy Lucas Fort Worth
Andrew Ward and Buddy Hawkins celebrate their win at Fort Worth with the Cowboy Channel's Katy Lucas. | James Phifer Photo

The Team Roping Journal was at the National Western Stock Show and Rodeo and the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo to catch up with the winners, Clay Smith and Jake Long and Andrew Ward and Buddy Hawkins.

In this bonus episode of ‘The Score,’ Chelsea Shaffer talks to Smith and Long immediately following their NWSS victory lap, while guest host (and host of The Breakdown podcast) Casey Allen caught up with Andrew Ward and Buddy Hawkins after their world-standings-rocking win at Fort Worth.

This episode is presented by, where Score listeners can use promo code THESCORE15 to save on their memberships to the most jam-packed streaming video site in all of team roping. This year, will stream the Lone Star Shootout Feb. 24-26, the Cinch Timed Event Championship, the Danny Dietz Memorial, the Platinum Medal Futurity and the Riata Buckle! Plus, watch thousands of training videos with Trevor Brazile, Miles Baker, Patrick Smith, Clay O’Brien Cooper, Jake Barnes and more!

Related Articles
Black and white photo of Charmayne James team roping with Pam Minick.
THE queen
The One and Only Pam Minick
Patrick Smith waves to the crowd at the 2022 NFR in Las Vegas, Nevada.
team work makes the dream work
The Short Score: Inside "Stay Driven" by Patrick Smith
Jake Barnes and Clay O’Brien Cooper have 56 National Finals Rodeo qualifications and seven NFR average wins between them. They won Rodeo’s Super Bowl together in three different decades—in 1985, 1994 and 2007. Dan Hubbell Photo
almost but not quite
The Short Score: Jake and Clay's Elusive 8th Gold Buckle
Andrew Ward and Buddy Hawkins team roping
Breaking it down
Stay Aggressive: Buddy Hawkins Breaks Down Rooftop Rodeo Win
Best of the Best
Who *Should Win the 2023 Head Horse of the Year Award?