Brown’s and Long’s 4.0 Wins Round 2 at the 2016 WNFR
Brown and Long add $26K to PRCA World Standings totals.

Photo by Kirt Steinke

Luke Brown and Jake Long added another $26,230.77 to their PRCA world standings totals with a 4.0-second run in a go-round that showcased Wrangler National Finals veterans. 

“It was kind of a blur,” Brown said. “He turned his head when I nodded. He wouldn’t ever get right. So I pulled, and he went to the right. And I just roped him and I turned off. Jake roped him like always.”

Long said his AQHA/PRCA Horse of the Year, Colonel, had a lot to do with his ability to heel that steer despite his position.

“I got in a bad spot on him,” Long said. “Colonel being awesome made up for it. It sounds stupid but it was kind of a blur for me too. I knew the general area he was in, so I just kind of threw it down there. I heel better with my eyes closed half the time anyway.”

Dustin Bird and Russell Cardoza’s 4.2-second run won the second place check, followed by Erich Rogers and Cory Petska at 4.3, Clay Smith and Paul Eaves with a 4.4, Kaleb Driggers and Junior Nogueira with a 4.8 and Levi Simpson and Jeremy Buhler with a 4.9. Simpson and Buhler were the only team of WNFR rookies to pick up a check this round. 

Brown and Long moved to first in the PRCA world standings with the round win with $154,397 and $151,052 respectively, while Bird and Cardoza moved to first in the average with 8.8 seconds on two head. Bird and Cardoza have made the greatest gains this week, already netting $51,461 a man. Brown and Long have won $49,557 each thus far. 

Coleman Proctor and Billie Jack Saebens, Tyler Wade and Dakota Kirchenschlager and Riley and Brady Minor turned in the only no-times of the night.

Bird moved to first in the PRCA All-Around standings with $161,155.40. Cardoza is second with $151,694.44. Nogueira dropped to third with $147,324.48, and bull dogger Clayton Hass is fourth with $146,453.91.


1. Luke Brown/Jake Long, 4.0, $26,230.77

2. Dustin Bird/Russell Cardoza, 4.2, $20,730

3. Erich Rogers/Cory Petska, 4.3, $15,653.85

4. Clay Smith/Paul Eaves, 4.4, $11,000

5. Kaleb Driggers/Junior Nogueira, 4.8, $6,769.23

6. Levi Simpson/Jeremy Buhler, 4.9, $4,230.77

Related Articles
March_24_2023_NFR_R05_TR_Tyler Wade_Wesley Thorp_HRae_002
Standing on Business
Forged From the Fire of Humble Beginnings
Tyler Wade team roping
a look back
Five of Our Favorite Moments from the 2023 NFR
Tyler Wade and Wesley Thorp
And the Gold Goes To...
Tyler Wade and Wesley Thorp Are 2023's PRCA World Champion Team Ropers
Tyler Wade Wesley Thorp
Driver's Seat
Tyler Wade & Wesley Thorp Throw Down with 3.5 to Win Round 9, Lead World Into Final Night '23 NFR
Record Speed
Tyler Wade and Wesley Thorp Blast Back Into World Title Contention with World-Record-Tying Run