Circuit Rodeoin'

Wyatt, Worley Take 2023 NFR Open Win
Nelson Wyatt & Tyler Worley were the 2023 NFR Open champions.
Nelson Wyatt and Tyler Worley roping their first steer at the 2023 NFR Open.
Nelson Wyatt and Tyler Worley lead the average at the 2023 NFR Open with an 11.1 on two head. Tanya Hamner photo

Nelson Wyatt and Tyler Worley took home the 2023 NFR Open win with a 4.4 in the clean-slate championship round Saturday, July 15.


As of 8:30 a.m. (CST) Sunday, July 16, 2023

First round: 1. (tie) Dawson Graham/Dillon Graham and Nelson Wyatt/Tyler Worley, 5.8 seconds, $4,979 each; 3. (tie) Pedro Egurrola/JC Flake and Tyler Jackson/Josh Hamby, 6.0, $2,576 each; 5. Brady Tryan/Justin Viles, 6.3, $1,202; 6. Hagen Peterson/Dylin Ahlstrom, 6.4, $859. 

Second round: 1. Josh Siggins/Colter Todd, 4.9 seconds, $5,666 each; 2. Jake Clay/Billie Jack Saebens, 5.1, $4,293; 3. Dustin Bird/Ike Folsom, 5.2, $3,091; 4. Nelson Wyatt/Tyler Worley, 5.3, $2,060; 5. Cody Snow/Dalton Pearce, 5.4, $1,202; 6. Hagen Peterson/Dylin Ahlstrom, 5.7, $859. 

Third round: 1. Josh Siggins/Colter Todd, 7.0 seconds, $6,868 each; 2. Nelson Wyatt/Tyler Worley, 11.7, $5,151; 3. Pedro Egurrola/JC Flake, 12.2, $3,434; 4. Cody Snow/Dalton Pearce, 20.1, $1,717. 

Finals: 1. Nelson Wyatt/Tyler Worley, 4.4 seconds, $6,868 each; 2. (tie) Pedro Egurrola/JC Flake and Josh Siggins/Colter Todd, 4.9, $4,293 each; 4. Cody Snow/Dalton Pearce, 6.9, $1,717. 

The most prestigious rodeo under the PRCA circuit system, the 2023 NFR Open powered by RAM, will feature some of the best in ProRodeo starting Tuesday, July 11. Two teams from each of the 12 U.S. Circuits and Canada, plus the national champions from Mexico, will take on the Norris Penrose Event Center in Colorado Springs over seven performances July 11-15.


The NFR Open powered by Ram, formerly titled the RAM National Circuit Finals, is one of the highest paying events of the year with $1 million in payouts.

Where and When?

Norris Penrose Event Center, Colorado Springs, Colorado. July 11-15, 2023.

Tuesday, July 11 7 p.m. (MST)
Wednesday, July 12 7 p.m. (MST)
Thursday, July 13 7 p.m. (MST)
Friday, July 14Noon (MST)
Friday, July 14 7 p.m. (MST)
Saturday, July 15Noon (MST)
Saturday, July 15 7 p.m. (MST)

NFR Open Format

The tournament-style NFR Open determines the national circuit champions in each event. 

All 27 qualifiers from 13 circuits plus Mexico compete in the two long rounds with nine teams in each of the three performances. The top eight from the preliminary rounds advance to the clean-slate semifinal round, with all previous times thrown out. The top four move on to the final, sudden-death round determining the national circuit champion in each event. Because the top four contestants begin with a clean slate in the Gold Buckle Round, each one has an equal opportunity to claim an NFR Open title.

2023 NFR Open format diagram


The year-end circuit champion and the circuit finals average winners from each circuit (13 year-end champs and 13 average champions) plus the national champions from Mexico will compete at the NFR Open.

*Listed are the pairs competing at the NFR Open together

Columbia River Circuit

Riley Minor & Brady Minor

T.C. Hammack & Jason Duby

California Circuit

Cody Snow & Dalton Pearce

Dan Williams & Todd Hampton

Wilderness Circuit

Hagen Peterson & Dylin Ahlstrom

Pace Freed & Cole Wilson

Montana Circuit

Dustin Bird & Ike Folsom

Brady Tryan & Justin Viles

Mountain States Circuit

Clayton Van Aken & Jayden Johnson

Pedro Egurrola & JC Flake

Turquoise Circuit

Josh Siggins & Colter Todd

Edward Hawley & Myles John

Texas Circuit

Nelson Wyatt & Tyler Worley

Casey Tew & Coleby Payne

Prairie Circuit

Andrew Ward & Buddy Hawkins

Jake Clay & Billie Jack Saebens

Great Lakes Circuit

Mason Appleton & Clay Clayman

Tyler Jackson & Josh Hamby

Southeastern Circuit

Braxton Culpepper & Brad Culpepper

Cole Thomas & Bryce Graves

First Frontier Circuit

Zane Kilgus & Drew Carnes

Eric Fabian & Britt Bockius

Badlands Circuit

Clay Ullery & Matt Zancanella

Jade Schmidt & Jade Nelson

Maple Leaf Circuit

Dawson Graham & Dillon Graham

Logan Bonnett & Riley Wilson

Mexico Circuit

Luis Gutierrez & Jose Gutierrez

Saturday, July 15 Matinee Draw

1Andrew Ward  Edmond, OKBuddy Hawkins Stephenville, TX
2Mason AppletonChelsea, OKClay Clayman  Highlandville, MO
3Riley Minor Ellensburg, WABrady MinorEllensburg, WA
4Logan Bonnett  Ponoka, ABRobert Wilson Cardston, AB
5Robert Freed Pocatello, IDCole Wilson  Lake Shore, UT
6Daniel WilliamsStandish, CATodd Hampton Madera, CA
7Dustin Bird  Cut Bank, MTIke Folsom  Jackson, MT
8Eric Fabian  Gansevoort, NYBritton Bockius Fulton, MD
9 Cole Thomas  Emelle, ALBryce Graves Poplarville, MS

Keep up with ProRodeo circuit standings all year long with updates from The Team Roping Journal, thanks to our friends at Fast Back Ropes.

Related Articles
Cutter Machado and Dalton Pearce at the 2023 California Circuit Finals.
best pals
“It’s way more fun when you're doing it with your friend.” – Cutter Machado and Dalton Pearce Win 2023 California Circuit Titles
R8 Wade Thorp Action Photos-9
who's winning?
Final: 2023 NFR Team Roping Results
Record Speed
Tyler Wade and Wesley Thorp Blast Back Into World Title Contention with World-Record-Tying Run
Junior Nogueira NFR
2023 NFR *Will* Be 10 Rounds with Two Performances Dec. 13
Jeremy Buhler heeling on Hoss at the 2022 NFR
best in the biz
The Heel Horses of 2023 NFR Round 1