Round 8

Brown & Koch, Wade & Thorp Draw High-Money Steers in Round 8 of 2023 NFR; Richard & Buhler Get Medlin’s Crossfire Steer
Things are about to get quick.
NFR Team Roping Steer

Tyler Wade and Wesley Thorp and Luke Brown and Hunter Koch—both with a shot at the PRCA team roping world titles—both drew the steers with the most money won when they went in Rounds 2 and 5 of the 2023 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo.

This will be the third run on the second pen of Hill Rodeo Cattle steers at the 2023 NFR.

Team SteerRound 2 TeamRound 2 TimeRound 2 MoneyRound 5 TeamRound 5 TimeRound 5 Money WonTotal Money Won
Tyler Wade / Wesley Thorp34Richard/Buhler3.9$24,433Egusquiza/Lord4.1$12877$37,310
Luke Brown / Hunter Koch35Ward/Hawkins4$18,325 Tomlinson/Smith4$21,296 $39,621
Jake Clay / Tyler Worley27Rogers/Eaves5.10Brown/Koch3.8$30,706 $30,706 
Marcus Theriot / Cole Curry2Wyatt/Torres4.3$7,924 Richard/Buhler4$21,296 $29,220
Clay Smith / Paden Bray20Theriot/Curry4.60Summers/Lomg000
Clint Summers / Jake Long22Worley/Clay00Driggers/Nogueira4.1+500
Andrew Ward / Buddy Hawkins29Tomlinson/Smith4.1+50Begay/Todd4.1+500
Tanner Tomlinson / Patrick Smith12Summers/Long3.8$30,706 Clay/Worley3.9+50$30,706 
Erich Rogers / Paul Eaves10Driggers/Nogueira4.2$12,877 Driggers/Nogueira7+50$12,877 
Rhen Richard / Jeremy Buhler30Wade/Thorp3.5+50Proctor/Medlin3.1+3000
Coleman Proctor / Logan Medlin21Begay/Todd4.80Rogers/Eaves4.1+500
Dustin Egusquiza / Levi Lord26Brown/Koch4.1+50Ward/Hawkins4.7$7,924 $7,924 
Nelson Wyatt / Jonathan Torres1Egusquiza/Lord4.4$4,953 Wade/Thorp4.8+50$4,953 
Derrick Begay / Colter Todd9Smith/Bray4.90Theriot/Curry4.4+1000
Kaleb Driggers / Junior Nogueira 6Proctor/Medlin00Smith/Bray3.9+500
Related Articles
March_24_2023_NFR_R05_TR_Tyler Wade_Wesley Thorp_HRae_002
Standing on Business
Forged From the Fire of Humble Beginnings
Feb_24_2023_NFR_R09_TR_Tyler Wade_Wesley Thorp_HRae_009
Dear Roper
Here's to More in '24: An Inside Look at the February 2024 Issue
Tyler Wade team roping
a look back
Five of Our Favorite Moments from the 2023 NFR
R8 Wade Thorp Action Photos-9
who's winning?
Final: 2023 NFR Team Roping Results
Tyler Wade Wesley Thorp
the champs
2023 World Champs Tyler Wade and Wesley Thorp, and Average Champs Derrick Begay and Colter Todd