On Making History: BFI Champions Clay and Saebens
The 2022 Bob Feist Invitational Champions Jake Cooper Clay and Billie Jack Saebens won $150,000 April 2, 2022, at the Lazy E Arena in Guthrie, Oklahoma. They sat down with podcast host Chelsea Shaffer to talk about what the team roping win means for their careers.
Jake Cooper Clay Billie Jack Saebens BFI Champions

This year’s Bob Feist Invitational made for the toughest short round in BFI history—with less than three seconds separating first from 15th. By now, you all likely know that Oklahoma’s Jake Cooper Clay and Billie Jack Saebens got the win and $150,000 from third callback. 

We caught up with them at the end of the grueling day at the Lazy E Arena April 2 to talk about where this win falls in the grand scheme of their careers. 

For Jake Cooper Clay, as you’ll hear, this is his second major victory to the tune of $150,000. He won the Ariat World Series of Team Roping Finale’s #15.5 heeling for eventual NFR header Brenten Hall back in 2016, taking home $75,000 per man. But since then, Cooper has been working the sale barns and riding horses, fighting his way up the heading and partner ranks. 

Clay and Saebens paired up after the Fourth of July in 2021, after Saebens—a two-time NFR heeler who’s ridden the AQHA Horse of the Year and two past horses of the BFI—had swapped to heading early that year. Saebens was getting his butt kicked by the young gun Clay at the local jackpots, so he gave in and asked him to rope. Hear their stories and more on this episode brought to you by ADM Animal Nutrition.

Related Articles
Joseph Harrison heeling steer BFI
Joseph Harrison's Futurity Horse is Doing Double-Time at the Biggest Open Jackpots in the Game.
Cole Eiguren turning a steer for Birch Eiguren to win the 12.5 at the 2024 BFI.
rookie season
Cole Eiguren Enters Rookie Season with $100K+ after BFI and Redmond Wins
Kaleb Driggers Junior Nogueira BFI Victory Lap
The Short Score: 2024 BFI Week
Screenshot 2024-04-05 at 4.11
Replay On April 6
The 2024 BFI Week Action is Now on Roping.com
Junior Nogueira heeling a steer behind Kaleb Driggers to win the 2024 BFI.
The Feist 2024
2024 Wrangler BFI Week: Full Results