Pro Rodeo Results Wrap-Up: February 4, 2019
Smith and Long lead the average at the San Angelo Rodeo.

Clay Smith and Jake Long are still on a roll. They won the Texas Circuit Finals, Denver, the Wildfire XXI and are currently leading the average at the San Angelo (Texas) Stock Show and Rodeo with a time of 7.1 seconds on two head. They are leading the first round with a 3.6-second-run. They also broke the arena record and are winning the second round with a 3.5-second-run.

[Read More: Still Rolling: Smith and Long Win Wildfire XXI]

“I don’t know that I have (ever been on a roll like this before),” Long said. “It’s been really good. Hopefully we can keep it going, keep roping like we’re supposed to.”

[Learn More: No Backing Off with Clay Smith]

“We’ve all put in the work—I’d like to say that I’ve outworked everyone, but all of us at this level work hard at it,” Smith said. “So I can’t say it’s just work. I’ve been blessed with really good horses, an outstanding partner and we’re supposed to do good. Sometimes it don’t happen that way. But we’re really tapped off, and our horses are good I think, and I just hope we can keep doing the same thing.”

[Read More: On Fire: Smith and Long’s New Partnership Keeps Rolling with Denver Win]

Smith and Long address their roll on an exclusive episode of The Short Score, Tuesday, February 5

Mountain States Circuit’s Clayton Van Aken and Cullen Teller won Rodeo Rapid City (South Dakota) with a 4.1-second-run, worth $5,273 a man. Van Aken and Teller are unofficially first in the Mountain States Circuit standings with $5,770.55 each.

Matt Sherwood and Tyler Worley have managed to stay in the driver’s seat at the Southwestern Exposition and Livestock Show in Fort Worth, Texas. They are currently first in the average with a time of 10.6 seconds on two head. They are tied for fifth in the first round with Caleb Smidt and Will Woodfin with a 5.4-second-run. Sherwood won Fort Worth in 2018 with Walt Woodard, as well.

[Read More: Sherwood and Woodard Dominate Fort Worth, Texas

San Angelo, Texas (IN PROGRESS) First round leaders: 1. Clay Smith/Jake Long, 3.6 seconds; 2. (tie) Justin Yost/Jake Edwards and Aaron Tsinigine/Kyle Lockett, 4.3 each; 4. Eli Lord/J.W. Beck, 4.6; 5. Billy Bob Brown/Shay Dixon Carroll, 4.7; 6. Bart Brunson/Trace Porter, 7.5. Second round leaders: 1. Clay Smith/Jake Long, 3.5 seconds; 2. Luke Brown/Paul Eaves, 3.6; 3. Aaron Tsinigine/Kyle Lockett, 3.8; 4. Bart Brunson/Trace Porter, 4.0; 5. Erich Rogers/Clint Summers, 4.3; 6. Rhen Richard/Quinn Kesler, 9.0. Average leaders: 1. Clay Smith/Jake Long, 7.1 seconds on two head; 2. Aaron Tsinigine/Kyle Lockett, 8.1; 3. Bart Brunson/Trace Porter, 11.5; 4. Jacob Dagenhart/Zack Mabry, 19.4; 5. Rhen Richard/Quinn Kesler, 23.2; 6. Eli Lord/J.W. Beck, 24.7; no other qualified runs.

Fort Worth, Texas (IN PROGRESS) First round leaders: 1. Cory Kidd V/Logan Medlin, 4.8 seconds; 2. Chace Thompson/Tyson Thompson, 4.9; 3. Jeff Flenniken/Jake Minor, 5.0; 4. Steven Duby/Jason Duby, 5.3; 5. (tie) Matt Sherwood/Tyler Worley and Caleb Smidt/Will Woodfin, 5.4 each. Second round leaders: 1. (tie) Marcus Theriot/Coleby Payne and Casey Tew/Boogie Ray, 4.7 seconds each; 3. Joshua Torres/Jonathan Torres, 4.8; 4. Aaron Macy/Jason Johe, 4.9; 5. Nick Sartain/Austin Rogers, 5.0; 6. Riley Minor/Brady Minor, 5.1. Average leaders: 1. Matt Sherwood/Tyler Worley, 10.6 seconds on two head; 2. Kal Fuller/Travis Woodard, 11.3; 3. Riley Minor/Brady Minor, 11.4; 4. (tie) Levi Simpson/Cole Davison and Steven Duby/Jason Duby, 12.1 each; 6. Ty Bach/Trey Johnson, 13.3; no other qualified runs.

Mcalester, Okla. 1. Dalton Turner/Cody Roberts, 5.7 seconds, $970 each; 2. Cale Markham/Cody Doescher, 5.9, $728; 3. Wyatt Muggli/Heath Williams, 6.5, $485; 4. Nick Becker/Dawson McMaster, 6.7, $243.

Lake Charles, La. 1. Ric LeBlanc/Peyton Leflett, 5.4 seconds, $1,055 each; 2. Colt Fisher/Britt Buller, 5.7, $873; 3. Rowdy Rieken/Will Woodfin, 6.3, $691; 4. Nathan McWhorter/Kinney Harrell, 6.4, $509; 5. Justin Johnson/Wesley Brunson, 6.8, $327; 6. Kaston Peavy/Jason Garcia, 7.6, $182.

Rapid City, S.D. 1. Clayton Van Aken/Cullen Teller, 4.1 seconds, $5,273 each; 2. Lightning Aguilera/Ty Arnold, 4.3, $4,718; 3. J.D. Yates/Ike Folsom, 4.4, $4,163; 4. (tie) Ty Blasingame/Trevor Schnaufer and Travis Tryan/Justin Viles, 4.5, $3,330 each; 6. Steven Duby/Jason Duby, 4.6, $2,498; 7. Blake Teixeira/Wyatt Cox, 4.7, $1,943; 8. Tim Nelson/Jake Nelson, 5.0, $1,388; 9. (tie) Tucker Dale/Chad Ystaas and JoJo LeMond/Trey Yates, 5.1, $555 each.

Related Articles
relentless insights video still
Relentless Insights
Develop Your Horse's Draw to Cattle
Clay Smith heading a steer for Coleby Payne at the 2024 Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo.
Clay Smith and Coleby Payne Score $20K Victory at Fort Worth, Payne's Biggest ProRodeo Win Yet
Clay Smith heading on roan stallion Bet Hesa Ginnin.
2024 Breeder's Guide
Bet Hesa Ginnin
Roger Nonella
Nonella's ctec redemption
Roger Nonella to Replace Clay Smith in 2024 Cinch Timed Event Championship
The Secret Behind Cutting-Bred Heel Horses