cali time

Marcus Theriot and Logan Medlin Win 2024 San Diego Rodeo
The San Diego Rodeo is new on the winter rodeo scene, taking place at Petco Park Jan. 12–14, 2024, and paying $20,000 to the winners.
Marcus Theriot and Logan Medlin with their partners at the 2023 NFR.
Marcus Theriot and Logan Medlin with their partners at the 2023 NFR. | Jamie Arviso photos

California weather called top rodeo contestants as the San Diego Rodeo made kicked off January 12-14, 2024. The new rodeo took place in Petco Park, the baseball stadium that’s home to the San Diego Padres, and paid $20,000 a man to the team roping champs.

Who won the 2024 San Diego Rodeo team roping?

Marcus Theriot and Logan Medlin teamed up in sunny California to win the inaugural San Diego Rodeo. While they aren’t ProRodeo partners, the Mississippi and New Mexico natives had no trouble kicking off their weekend in Petco Park on the right foot. They won the first round with a 4.4, and their $3,500 win secured them a spot in Sunday’s eight-man round.

They picked up a leg in the eight-man but won enough just off the first round to advance to the sudden-death round of four. They started the round off as the first team out, and their 3.9-second run held strong, clinching the win. As one of only two teams to catch, they picked up some extra money for the win, pocketing $30,000 just for the four-man round. All in all, Theriot and Medlin left the West Coast with $33,500.00 each.

Who roped at the San Diego Rodeo?


Round 1: 1. Marcus Theriot/Logan Medlin, 4.4, $3,500; 2. Nelson Wyatt/Jonathan Torres, 4.9, $2,500; 3. Kaleb Driggers/Jade Corkill, 5.0, $1,500; 4. Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp, 6.0, $500.

Round 2: 1. Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp, 4.4, $3,500; 2. Chase Helton/Spencer Mitchell, 4.6, $2,500; 3/4: Kaleb Diggers/Jade Corkill, 4.9, $1,000 and Derrick Begay/Colter Todd, 4.9, $1,000.

Round of 8: 1. Derrick Begay/Colter Todd, 3.7, $4,000; 2. Nelson Wyatt/Jonathan Torres, 3.8, $3,000; 3. Dustin Egusquiza/Levi Lord, 3.9, $2,000; 4. Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp, 4.2, $1,000.

Round of 4: 1. Marcus Theriot/Logan Medlin, 3.9, $30,000; 2. Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp, 10.1, $20,000; No other qualified runs.

Eight-Man Round Contestants

  • Tyler Wade/Wesley Thorp
  • Kaleb Diggers/Jade Corkill
  • Marcus Theriot/Logan Medlin
  • Derrick Begay/Colter Todd
  • Chase Helton/Spencer Mitchell
  • Clay Tryan/Jake Long
  • Nelson Wyatt/Jonathan Torres
  • Dustin Egusquiza/Levi Lord

What was the format of the San Diego Rodeo?

There will be three performances at the San Diego Rodeo. Rounds 1 and 2 will take place the first two performances (Jan. 12-13). The final performance, Jan. 14, will be the Finals, comprised of eight of the highest money earners from the first two rounds, followed by the Shoot Out round of four.

What was the payout for the team roping?

The San Diego Rodeo will pay four places in each performance:

Performances on Friday and Saturday

  1. $3,500 per man
  2. $2,500 per man
  3. $1,500 per man
  4. $500 per man

Round of 8 on Sunday

  1. $4,000 per man
  2. $3,000 per man
  3. $2,000 per man
  4. $1,000 per man

Shoot Out on Sunday

  1. $20,000 per man
  2. $15,000 per man
  3. $10,000 per man
  4. $5,000 per man

When was it?

  • Friday, January 12, 2024; 7:00 p.m. PST
  • Saturday, January 13, 2024; 7:00 p.m. PST
  • Sunday, January 14, 2024; 2:00 p.m. PST

Where to watch the San Diego Rodeo

The rodeo is set to air on the Cowboy Channel Plus starting Jan. 12 at 10 p.m. ET. 

Related Articles
PRCA Instant Replay
What's the Deal?
Can ProRodeo REALLY Add Instant Replay?
Coleman Proctor and Logan Medlin celebrating their Round-3 win at the 2023 NFR.
2023 NFR Round 3: Coleman Proctor and Logan Medlin
Logan Medlin
Thank Goodness
"He's the Best Heeler in the World" — Proctor Applauds Medlin for Round 3 Shot
Marcus Theriot heading a steer at the 2023 Reno Rodeo.
header or tie-down roper?
The Short Score: Marcus Theriot's First NFR
Coleman Proctor turning a steer for Logan Medlin at the 2023 Prairie Circuit Finals.
Prairie Dogs
Keeping Momentum: Coleman Proctor and Logan Medlin Add Prairie Circuit Finals to 2023 Accomplishments