The Short Score: Crossfire Rule Update
The crossfire is the most controversial call in ProRodeo, and when the rule changed May 1, 2023, listeners of The Short Score had some questions. Harry Rose and Wesley Thorp both join this episode to clear things up.

It comes as no surprise that the initial episode of The Short Score on the PRCA’s new crossfire rule drew a lot of attention., considering it’s the most controversial call in rodeo. In hopes of answering some questions listeners had regarding the rule, we met with Pro Official Harry Rose who has flagged the team roping at the NFR 21 times.

We also caught up with 2019 World Champion Heeler Wesley Thorp to go into more detail on writing the new rule and the entire proposal process. Thorp played a significant role in the entire process of the rule change and also held a seminar last fall at his house in Texas where judges and contestants came together to work on a solution to the controversial call.

Listen Here:

This episode is presented by Purina. Level up your horses’ performance this season with choices from Purina Animal Nutrition. From Purina Ultium Competition Formula to Purina Impact Pro Performance and everything in-between, Purina has the right option for your horse – including supplements like Purina SuperSport Amino Acid Supplement, Purina Amplify High Fat Supplement and Purina Outlast Gastric Support Supplement. There are many choices for optimal nutrition when you choose Purina…all backed by science. Level up your performance this season and put Purina’s research to the test. Ask for Purina at your local feed retailer today.

Related Articles
Colter Todd heeling a steer for Derrick Begay in the Finals at the 2024 San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo.
And Another One
Derrick Begay and Colter Todd Fight through the Wildcard for Coveted 2024 San Antonio Win
comeback szn
The Short Score: Brenten Hall
88 Remuda Sale Garrett Henry
Big Business
Ranch-Raised: The 88 Remuda Sale and Wyoming's Henry Family's Hidden Gem of Elite Rope-Horse Prospects
5 Flat
Following Your Steer's Tracks
Tyler Wade Wesley Thorp
the champs
2023 World Champs Tyler Wade and Wesley Thorp, and Average Champs Derrick Begay and Colter Todd