let's talk records

The Short Score: Calgary Smith on the 2023 CFR
Calgary Smith, CFR '49 and Canadian Professional Rodeo Association champion heeler, joins The Short Score to talk about winning the Canadian Finals.
Brady Tryan heading a steer for Calgary Smith at the 2023 CFR.
Brady Tryan and Calgary Smith were first to set the new 3.5-second CFR bar. | CFR Photo by Chantelle Bowman

The 2023 Canadian Finals Rodeo wrapped up Sunday, Nov. 5, after six rounds of battle. And when it was all said and done, Brady Tryan and Calgary Smith finished on top and with five new CFR records.

Tryan and Smith broke five records during their CFR ’49 appearance. They were 3.5 seconds in Round 3 to set a new arena record (along with Rhen Richard and Jeremy Buhler). They won the last four rounds consecutively to set a new record. They won the average with a 24.3 on six steers to break their third record. They both won $62,837 at the CFR, setting another record. And lastly, they won the year-end with $91,493 in season earnings to break their fifth and final record.

Listen Now:

On this episode of The Short Score, Smith joins us to walk through their runs and share some insight on what it meant to break some records.

This Episode is Presented by 5 Star Equine Products.

5 Star’s exclusive wool, quality and craftsmanship has set the standard in the equine industry. 5 Star’s durability has been proven in the arena, on the ranch, and on the trail.  Custom designs and styles to fit even the toughest of backlines, 5Star has a pad for your horse. And, best of all, all 5 Star Equine products are handcrafted in the USA! Let us take the worry out of keeping your horse comfortable, while you enjoy the ride. Customize your pad at 5StarEquine.com

Related Articles
Guymon 24 10 (391) dustin egusquiza levi lord 3rd go 8
The Short Score: Guymon Champs
WSG - link preview with lines and logo-50
roping rookies
The Short Score: Weekend for the Resistol Rookies
Sydney and Sally Ball posing with their checks after winning the 2023 WRWC Challenger world championship.
The Short Score: Sydney Ball
Luke Brown taking a victory lap for winning Round 5 of the 2023 NFR.
The Short Score: Luke Brown's 2008 Pendleton Win
Kaleb Driggers Junior Nogueira BFI Victory Lap
The Short Score: 2024 BFI Week