The NFR Horses the Best Team Ropers in the World Will Ride in Round 1
The horses getting the call in Round 1 at the 2022 NFR.

The top 15 team ropers in the world have given meticulous thought to which will be their Round 1 horses when the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo kicks off inside the Thomas & Mack at 5:45 p.m. PT on Dec. 1, 2022.

As of noon Dec. 1, here’s the most updated list of which horse each of the top 15 will ride in the tiny yellow arena of the NFR:

Editor’s Note: This story will be updated with registered names as they become available.


HeaderHead Horse
Kaleb DriggersCuervo
Clay TryanBrownie
Andrew WardBiscuit
Coleman Proctor Heisman 
Tanner TomlinsonBlue
Dustin EgusquizaItchi
Rhen RichardMidnight
Tyler Wade Spur
JR DeesDillon
Cody SnowSleepy
Lightning AguileraMoose
Riley MinorPiggy
Clay SmithMarty
Chad MastersJimmy*
Jake OrmanFrank


Heeler Heel Horse
Junior NogueiraTimon
Jake LongCJ
Buddy HawkinsX
Jade CorkillHuey or Champ
Logan Medlin Drago 
Patrick SmithTurbo
Travis GravesHarry
Jeremy BuhlerHoss
Levi LordBirdie
Trey YatesDude
Joseph HarrisonThe Governor
Wesley ThorpRayJ
Brady MinorSug
Brye CritesCherry
Jonathan TorresBiggie
Related Articles
Clay Trayn roping
i did it my way
Clay Tryan Walks Away
Top 10 Traits in a Horse for Lower-Numbered Heelers
A Streak Of Fling
All Hail the King
A Streak Of Fling Makes New Home Lazy E Ranch 
Tyler Worley and Coleby Payne
bomb dropped
Breaking: PRCA Grievance Committee Reverses Decision, Worley Will Rope at 2023 NFR
Tanner Tomlinson NFR average payout
What Will the 2023 NFR Pay in the Team Roping?