Trade Secrets: The Ropes the Top 15 *Heelers* Will Use in Las Vegas
The PRCA's top 15 heelers' rope selection is defined by the Classic Ropes' Powerline Lite, having won $1.2 million so far for the top 15.
Powerline Lite Heel Rope

The PRCA’s top 15 heelers’ rope selection in 2022 is a far more lop-sided when it comes to rope preference than their heading counterparts.

While one rope has the dominant edge on the field when it comes to numbers, two other companies also will have their patches on heelers in the arena in 2022.

Here’s the NFR heelers’ rope-choice analysis to start: 

  • Joseph Harrison is the only heeler not dead-set on his rope choice for Round 1. He’s deciding between his two favorites: the XR4 Lite and the Powerline Lite HM by Classic. Coincidentally, his header, Chad Masters, is also undecided on his Cactus Rope selection. They’re the only two without a certain choice.
  • The Powerline Lite will make nine (maybe 10, if Harrison picks that rope) trips each night inside the Thomas & Mack.
  • Of the 10 using the Powerline Lite, Travis Graves is the only going for a MH, and Jonathan Torres is the only one using a M.
  • Classic Ropes have won $1.2 million for the 10 men in the top 15 who used them so far in 2022.
  • Jake Long is second in the world standings using the Cactus Mojo MH with $130,331.68, including the RodeoHouston win with Clay Tryan and the epic late-season comeback he mounted with Clay Smith. Levi Lord also goes with the MH, but he picks the Cactus Thrilla.
  • Patrick Smith is the lone Lone Star endorsee on the heelers’ list and the only one opting for a M lay.

Looking for the headers’ rope choices? Find them here.

So, What Ropes Will Each of the Top 15 Use?

World Standings Contestant Pre-NFR EarningsRope CompanyRopeLay
1Junior Nogueira$227,877.85ClassicPowerline  LiteHM
2Jake Long$130,331.68CactusMojo MH
3Buddy Hawkins$123,076.33ClassicPowerline LiteHM
4Jade Corkill$110,855.24ClassicPowerline LiteHM
5Logan Medlin $110,691.37CactusFutureMH
6Patrick Smith$107,368.21Lone StarThunderbirdM
7Travis Graves$106,736.86ClassicPowerline Lite MH
8Jeremy Buhler$100,214.32ClassicPowerline LiteHM
9Levi Lord$97,443.12CactusThrilla MH
10Trey Yates$95,010.73ClassicPowerline LiteHM
11Joseph Harrison$92,115.14ClassicXR4 Lite/Powerline LiteHM
12Wesley Thorp$91,842.70ClassicNV4HM
13Brady Minor$89,022.28ClassicPowerline LiteHM
14Brye Crites$86,409.74ClassicPowerline LiteHM
15Jonathan Torres$82,967.95ClassicPowerline LiteM
Related Articles
Coleman Proctor heading his final steer at the 2023 Cinch Playoffs Governor's Cup in Sioux Falls.
Well, well, well...
Governor's Cup Play-by-Play: Proctor, Medlin Victorious in Round of 4
Coleman Proctor heading a steer to win the second round of the 2023 Governor's Cup in Sioux Falls.
Proctor, Medlin Win Round 2 in Sioux Falls; Field of 8 Determined
Tyler Wade turning a steer for Wesley Thorp in Stephenville, Texas, 2023.
counting down
Final Hours on the 2023 ProRodeo Circuit Front
Wesley Thorp getting ready to rope at the 2023 Governor's Cup in Sioux Falls.
weapons of choice
Armed and Dangerous: Rope Choice of 2023 Governor's Cup Top 8
Coleman Proctor
Main Mounts
The Head & Heel Horses of the 2023 Cinch Playoffs Governor's Cup