East-Coast Edge: Thigpen Leads 2019 Cinch Timed Event Championship on Ten Head
After Round 2, Georgia's Justin Thigpen has the lead at the 2019 Cinch Timed Event Championship with a time of 147.8 seconds on ten head.

Justin Thigpen is no stranger to Oklahoma success. The Waycross, Georgia cowboy has won 19 International Professional Rodeo Association titles in Oklahoma City, including championships in the heading, tie-down roping, steer wrestling and all-around. 

But Guthrie’s Cinch Timed Event Championship, held in the Lazy E Arena, is introducing to a whole new audience and allowing the top hand to shine in a new set up. The IPRA champ is a newcomer to the storied Ironman event, and he’s making his presence known early. 

After 10 head, Thigpen leads the Cinch Timed Event Championship with an aggregate time of 147.8 seconds, winning second in both the first and second rounds and already pocketing $4,000. 

“I’ve been wanting to come for several years, and I finally got the invite,” Thigpen said. “Praise God, we’re just trying to make the most of it. There’s some hiccups along the way, but it’s like a 10-round fight, you’ve got to keep fighting until the end. I just want to do my job. This is a great event. I’m a timed-event cowboy, and I just hope to showcase all my skills.”

Thigpen produces and competes in IPRA rodeos across the Southeast, and his wife and 3-year-old son came with him to watch. 

“I’ve got an army of support behind me,” Thigpen said. “My little boy Trent came back here after the bull dogging and gave me a thumbs up.”

Another Southeast Circuit cowboy is having a good weekend so far, as Marcus Theriot is second and just 3.5 seconds behind Thigpen. TRJ


First round: 1. Jordan Ketscher, 60.7 seconds, $3,000; 2. Justin Thigpen, 72.1, $2,000; 3. Brent Lewis, 73.9, $1,000.

Second round: 1. Marcus Theriot, 73.6 seconds, $3,000; 2 Justin Thigpen, 75.7, $2,000; 3. Clayton Hass, 78.3, $1,000.

Average leaders: 1. Justin Thigpen, 147.8 seconds; 2. Marcus Theriot, 150.2; 3. Cody Doescher, 157.9; 4. Clayton Hass, 168.8; 5. Clay Smith, 170.7; 6. Jordan Ketscher, 181.6; 7. Jess Tierney, 182.2; 8. Erich Rogers, 187.1.

Related Articles
Stephen Britnell heeling a steer to win Round 1 of 2023 WCRA Rodeo Carolina.
counting down
Nominations Closing for 2024 WCRA Stampede at The E
Braxton and Brad Culpepper_Performance3_IFR2023_DarlenaRoberts
IPRA update
IFR 54 Team Roping Roster
Marcus Theriot heading a steer at the 2023 Reno Rodeo.
header or tie-down roper?
The Short Score: Marcus Theriot's First NFR
A Streak Of Fling
All Hail the King
A Streak Of Fling Makes New Home Lazy E Ranch 
Tyler Worley and Coleby Payne
bomb dropped
Breaking: PRCA Grievance Committee Reverses Decision, Worley Will Rope at 2023 NFR