National Circuit Championship on the Line at NFR Open
The best in ProRodeo are coming to Colorado Springs, Colorado, as the 81st Cinch Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo welcomes the 2022 NFR Open, July 13-16, 2022 to Norris Penrose Event Center. Get all the details about the NFR Open powered by RAM here...
Derrick Begay at the NFR Open

The NFR Open powered by RAM, formerly titled the RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo, is the most prestigious rodeo under the PRCA circuit system and will feature two contestants in each event from each of the 12 U.S. circuits, plus Canada, bringing more than 200 contestants to the Norris-Penrose Event Center for five competition rounds July 13-16 in Colorado Springs, Colo. This event is also one of the highest-paying events in ProRodeo and will be a key ingredient for cowboys and cowgirls shooting to qualify for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo in Las Vegas, Dec. 1-10, since all winnings from the rodeo will count toward the PRCA | RAM World Standings.


13 Year-End Circuit Winners and 13 Circuit Finals Average Winners qualify for the NFR Open


The NFR Open powered by RAM, previously known as RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo.


July 13-15 @ 6:45 p.m., July 16 @ 12:15 p.m. & 6:45 p.m.


Norris Penrose Event Center, Colorado Springs, Colorado


Watch the NFR Open live on the Cowboy Channel and the PRCA on the Cowboy Channel Plus app


The tournament-style NFR Open determines the national circuit champions in each event.

All qualifying teams from the 13 circuits compete in the two preliminary rounds of the rodeo. (Each contestant competes twice.) The top eight teams from each event advance to the semifinal round, with all previous scores and times thrown out. The top four move on to the final round – a sudden-death competition that determines the national circuit champion in each event. Because the top four teams begin with a clean slate in the Gold Buckle Round, each one has an equal opportunity to claim an NFR Open title.

NFR Open EventFlow_Bracket2022


4th Performance Saturday Matinee (7/16/2022):

1110Tanner JamesPorterville, CA97Wyatt HansenOakdale, CA
27Miles BakerMountain Park, OK224Zachary WoodsWalters, OK
384Dawson GrahamWainwright, AB85Dillon GrahamWainwright, AB
4156Braden PirrungHartford, SD148Coley NichollsKinnear, WY
568Eric FabianGansevoort, NY38Derek CareyValley Falls, NY
6209Clint WallaceLittle Rock, AR205Ryan Von AhnPalmyra, MO
7196Lane StockTaylor, AZ182Justin SimonFlorence, AZ
8129William MastersCedar Hill, TN133Tyler McKnightPollok, TX
9198Marcus TheriotLumberton, MS53Bentley CurryLiberty, MS
10199Garrett TonozziLampasas, TX210Trenton WattsEads, CO
1173Kenneth FlennikenCaldwell, ID138Jake MinorEllensburg, WA
12201Brady TryanHuntley, MT204Justin VilesCody, WY
13165Rhen RichardRoosevelt, UT33Jeremy BuhlerArrowwood, AB


First round: 1. Marcus Theriot/Cole Curry, 5.9 seconds, $5,630 each; 2. Clint Wallace/Ryan Von Ahn, 6.2, $4,265; 3. Rhen Richard/Jeremy Buhler, 6.3, $3,071; 4. Radley Day/Taylor Williams, 6.4, $2,047; 5. Brady Tryan/Justin Viles, 6.8, $1,194; 6. Garrett Rogers/Russell Cardoza, 7.0, $853. 

Second round: 1. Dustin Egusquiza/Travis Graves, 4.2 seconds; 2. Derrick Begay/TJ Brown, 5.6; 3. Blake Hirdes/Dalton Pearce, 5.8; 4. Jake Clay/Austin Rogers, 6.1; 5. Logan Bonnett/Keely Bonnett, 7.1; 6. Cameron Irwin/Cash Hetzel, 10.4. 

Average: 1. Derrick Begay/TJ Brown, 13.4 seconds on two head; 2. Blake Hirdes/Dalton Pearce, 14.8; 3. Logan Bonnett/Keely Bonnett, 15.8; 4. Jake Clay/Austin Rogers, 16.2; 5. Brit Ellerman/Marcus Banister, 24.3; 6. Darren Morgan/Jake Edwards, 27.2; no other qualified runs.

Related Articles
Clint Summers
First Blood
Setting the Tone: Summers & Long Get Round 1 Win to Kick Off 2023 NFR
NFR team Roping Steers
round 1 steer report
The Strong Ones: NFR 2023 Round 1 Steer Report
Derrick Begay and Colter Todd taking their victory lap after winning the 2023 Pendleton Round-Up.
Begay’s Best NFR Life Will Be Outside the Arena
Brady Minor Sug
Only the Best
Brady Minor's Horse of the Year 'Sug' Will Start 2023 NFR Under Paden Bray
Cutter Machado heading a steer at Lake Havasu, Arizona, in 2023.
what a hoot
Average Joes NFR Open 2023: Just a Little Pre-NFR Cowboy Fun on the Central Coast of California