The What?

The PRCA Playoff Series? What’s that?
How the PRCA Playoff Series and the 2023 Governor's Cup in Sioux Falls may have major implications on the 2023 world standings race.
Coleman Proctor and Logan Medlin roping their steer at the 2022 NFR Playoff Series Finale in Puyallup, Washington.
Coleman Proctor and Logan Medlin won the 2022 NFR Playoff Series Finale at Puyallup’s Washington State Fair Pro Rodeo. | Rod Conner photo

With the new addition of the 2023 PRCA Playoff Series Governor’s Cup in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, which will pay $1 million across eight events, people began asking questions. Luckily, we have answers.

What is the PRCA Playoff Series?

You might remember the ProRodeo Tour in 2021. Today, it’s officially called the PRCA Playoff Series. Standings are kept throughout the season and there is a championship event at the end of the year. Contestants competed at rodeos such as Rapid City, San Antonio and Salinas, just to name a few, to earn points, and these are the remaining rodeos in the 2023 Playoff tour.

Hermiston, OR
Sikeston, MO
Logan, UT
Caldwell, ID
Canby, OR
Gooding, ID
Kennewick, WA

Tremonton, UT
Bremerton, WA
Filer, ID
Ellensburg, WA
Walla Walla, WA
Abilene, TX
Pendleton, OR

How do Athletes Accumulate Points?

PRCA Playoff Series standings are points based. There are three levels of points based upon the total purse money of a given rodeo.

  •      Top Tier —more than $650,000 total purse
  •      Middle Tier — between $649,999 and $325,000
  •      Bottom Tier — less than $324,999

Points are distributed to contestants who place in the top 20 at each of the Playoff Series Rodeos, based on the fastest time or highest score. For rodeos with multiple rounds, the points are calculated based on the average. Tournament rodeos are more complicated, but points are assigned based on how far each competitor advanced through the tournament.

READ: $1M NFR Playoff Primer

What is Different in 2023 with the Playoff Series?

The 2022 Playoff Finale took place in Puyallup, Washington. In 2023, the PRCA announced that the top 24 athletes from the 2023 PRCA Playoff Series will compete in Puyallup at the Washington State Fair on the weekend of September 7-10. But that isn’t the close of the Playoff Series this year, like it was in 2022.

READ: $13K Puyallup Payday Puts Proctor and Medlin in Top 5 Position

Welcome to Sioux Falls

After Puyallup, the teams who finish in the top four in Puyallup will meet up with the top eight in the 2023 PRCA Playoff Series standings (on the year) and head to Sioux Falls, South Dakota, for the 2023 Cinch Playoffs Governor’s Cup.

What is the Governor’s Cup, and Why does it Matter?

The Governor’s Cup takes place September 28-30, 2023, and offers a payout across eight events of $1 million. 

The close of the PRCA regular season is September 30. That means that the following massive payouts will hit during the final days of the season and it will have an impact on who makes the National Finals Rodeo in December as the buzzer sounds.

Governor’s Cup Format

The Governor’s Cup will allow the 12 qualifying contestants to compete in rounds one and two of competition. 

Those rounds will have the following payout: 

  1. $10,000
  2. $7,500
  3. $5,000
  4. $2,500

After the first two full rounds, the top eight teams on two head will advance to Saturday’s round. In Saturday’s clean-slate round, fifth-eighth place will pay $2,555 each, and the top four fastest times will advance to a four-man short round. The four-man shootout round will pay the following amounts as the current and unofficial projected payout from the PRCA. 

  1. $25,000
  2. $19,000
  3. $12,000
  4. $6,000

2023 PRCA Playoff Series Standings

As of August 9, 2023


1Tanner Tomlinson833.23
2Derrick Begay738.56
3Kaleb Driggers707.33
4Nelson Wyatt702.13
5Marcus Theriot605.96
6Clay Smith596.26
7Brenten Hall571.7
8Tyler Wade552.58
9Dustin Egusquiza537
10Andrew Ward525.88
11Coy Rahlmann513.75
12Jr. Dees480.55
13J.C. Yeahquo480.37
14Cody Snow480.05
15Rhen Richard474.37
16Jake Smith452.38
17Cash Duty440.69
18Jake Clay432.88
19Keven Daniel421.13
20Coleman Proctor407.05
21Luke Brown402.63
22Ty Arnold392.33
23Lightning Aguilera389.05
24Tanner James387.5
25Cory Kidd370.15
26Clint Summers365
27Kellan Johnson357.96
28Riley Minor352
29Chad Masters336.93
30Jeff Flenniken335.25

Full PRCA Playoff Series standings


1Patrick Smith833.23
2Colter Todd738.56
3Junior Nunes Nogueira707.33
4Wesley Thorp635.75
5Cole Curry605.96
6Paden Bray571.7
7Levi Lord537
8Buddy Hawkins525.88
9Coleby Payne521.83
10Jonathan Torres513.75
11Jeremy Buhler494.37
12Travis Graves486.46
13Jake Long482.44
14Ross Ashford480.55
15L.J. Yeahquo480.37
16Douglas Rich474.13
17Sid Sporer440.69
18Chase Tryan430.63
19Billie Jack Saebens423.5
20Corey Hendrick417.83
21Logan Medlin407.05
22Hunter Koch402.63
23Rance Doyal396.7
24Kaden Profili392.33
25Lane Mitchell370.15
26Carson Johnson357.96
27Jade Corkill352.64
28Brady Minor352
29Caleb Hendrix345.5
30Jared Fillmore338.3

Full PRCA Playoff Series standings

Related Articles
Jace Helton heeling a steer behind Shay Carroll to win the San Angelo rodeo.
Cracking Out
Shay Dixon Carroll and Jace Helton Successful in ProRodeo Debut with 2024 San Angelo Win 
money bags
Full Results: 2024 Cinch USTRC National Finals of Team Roping
Fast Track
Top Seeded Team Ropers Qualified to Compete in WRWC Showdown Round
Derrick Begay Freeze Frame San Antonio
Freeze Frame
Derrick Begay Breaks Down Finals Run at San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo
Red Bluff Team Roping
Rodeo Trail
Calling Their Shot: Chad Masters, Wyatt Cox Win 2024 Red Bluff Round-Up Team Roping to Tee Up NFR Push