The Ironman By the Numbers
The Cinch Timed Event Championship by the numbers breakdown.

This year’s Cinch Timed Event Championships continues the tradition of bringing together the best hands in the industry for the ultimate cowboy showdown at the famed Lazy E Arena in Guthrie, Oklahoma, March 10-12.

$5.6 Million

The all-time payout over the 34 years of the Cinch Timed Event Championships.

440 Feet

The length of the Lazy E’s red dirt arena and the distance an ironman contestant may have to run to get to his bull dogging horse if he misses his steer on the first jump.

Read: Practice Paradise: The Best in the World’s Arena Dimensions

The length of the Lazy E Arena is 440 feet. Courtesy Lazy E/James Phifer


The amount of money Daniel Green has won in his Cinch Timed Event career—the most in this year’s field.

Read: Life and Roping with Daniel Green


Daniel Green showing off how to catch two feet. Courtesy Lazy E/James Phifer

The fastest aggregate time by any current Cinch Timed Event contestant—set in 2016 by Paul David Tierney—the fastest aggregate time in the event’s history.


The new payout for the Jr. Ironman Champ—up from $10,000 just last year. The Jr. Ironman tests all-around hands under 19 over three rounds of heading, heeling, tie-down roping and steer wrestling, won in 2021 by Rattan, Oklahoma’s Briar Teague.

Read: Teague Finishes Jr. Ironman with Championship Title

Check the Full List of 2022 Jr. Ironman Contestants

Briar Teague heading at the 2021 CTEC. Courtesy Lazy E/James Phifer


The number of Cinch Timed Event Champions in this year’s field:

Marcus Theriot

Paul David Tierney

Daniel Green

Jess Tierney

Taylor Santos

Justin Thigpen

& Kyle Lockett

Read: Full List of 2022 Cinch Timed Event Championships Contestants


The number of gold buckles in the 2022 Cinch Timed Event field—owned by newcomers Tyler Pearson, Shad Mayfield and Cole Patterson.

Read: Tyler Pearson Gets Set to Prove He’s No One-Trick Pony

Read: Shad Mayfield Gets Set to Test Timed Event Waters in Five Events

Courtesy Lazy E/James Phifer


The amount of money Marcus Theriot took home for his win at the Cinch Timed Event Championship in 2021.

Read: Theriot Dominates 2021 Cinch Timed Event Championship 


The most money won by any contestant in his Cinch Timed Event career—by 26-time World Champion Trevor Brazile.

The King of the Cowboys, Trevor Brazile. Courtesy Lazy E/James Phifer
Related Articles
closeup of Trevor Brazile heading on a palomino horse
Relentless Insights
Trevor Brazile's Short-Round Mental Hacks
Trevor Brazile ridine The Darkk Side
good advice
8 Hard-Learned Breeding Lessons
The Ultimate Facing Masterclass
Relentless Insights
Conquering Competition Nerves
Trevor Brazile heading on Bama Fury.
Making the Leap
Futurity Horse to Rodeo Horse?