iron men

Yes, There are 25 Cinch Timed Event Championship Contestants in 2024
The full list of 2024 Cinch Timed Event Championship contestants.

The 2024 Cinch Timed Event Championship is right around the corner, and the list of contestants is set.

For the 40th anniversary of the Ironman, known for showcasing the top timed event all-around cowboys in the world, they’ve added five more contestants with soon-to-be-announced format adjustments.

Here’s the complete list of CTEC contestants for 2024. (Last updated on Feb. 26)

Back No.ContestantCity, StateCTEC Qualifications (Including 2024)2023 NFR QualifierYears WonNotes
1Cody DoescherOklahoma City, OK112023
2Russell CardozaTerrebonne, OR12
3Riley WakefieldOneill, NE2
4Nelson WyattClanton, AL2NFR
5Marcus TheriotPoplarville, MS8NFR 2021
6Clayton HassWeatherford, TEX13
7Jess TierneyAltus, OK152017
8Colby LovellMadisonville, TX2
9Paul David TierneyOklahoma City, OK 132014, 2016
10Erich RogersRound Rock, AZ11NFR 2022
11K.C. JonesBurlington, WY321993, 1996, 1999, 2001, 2012
12Seth HallAlbuquerque, NM5
13Justin ThigpenWaycross, GA52019
14Billy GoodWynnewood, OKROOKIETaylor Santos, Tyler Waters OUT, Billy Good & Thomas Smith in with 4 Days Notice for ’24 Cinch Timed Event Championship
15Cole PattersonPratt, KS3
16Kolton SchmidtBarrhead, Alberta 2
17Tyler PearsonLouisvile, MS2
18Cade RiceLipan, TXROOKIE
19Jake ClaySulphur Springs, OKROOKIENFR
20Blane CoxStephenville, TXROOKIENFR
21Eli LordDickinson, SDROOKIELord offered Lane Karney’s spot in the 2024 lineup
22Brushton MintonWitter Springs, CAROOKIENFRMinton takes Kyle Lockett’s place in 2024
23Roger NonellaRedmond, OR5Nonella replaces Clay Smith in 2024
24Dylan HancockSan Angelo, TXROOKIEHancock answers CTEC call in place of Shad Mayfield
25Thomas SmithBarnsdall, OK2Taylor Santos, Tyler Waters OUT, Billy Good & Thomas Smith in with 4 Days Notice for ’24 Cinch Timed Event Championship

The Timed Event Championship of the World debuted in 1985. In the world of rodeo at that time, cowboys were beginning to specialize in one or two events. 

READ: Men of Iron: Keepers of the Cinch Timed Event Championship Arena Records

EK Gaylord II, builder and owner of the Lazy E, and a few close cowboy friends had the idea to develop an event that showcased the all-around cowboy, the cowboy who could excel in multiple events, and thus the “Ironman of ProRodeo” was born.

ProRodeo’s top 25 timed event cowboys in the world are invited and required to compete in all five timed events—heading, tie-down, heeling, steer wrestling, and steer roping—over five rounds & three grueling days of competition. While there have been a few minor changes over the years, the event has essentially remained the same. With a total purse of $200,000, the winner walks away with a $100,000 paycheck and bragging rights.

Related Articles
Paul David Tierney
Full Interview: Paul David Tierney's $388.5K Cinch Timed Event Championship Career
Ketch Kelton heeling at Jr. Ironman
Ketch Again
Déjà vu: Ketch Kelton Bags Second Jr. Ironman Championship and $21,750
Paul David Tierney Cinch Timed Event
Paul David Tierney Gets Third Cinch Timed Event Championship Title 10 Years After First
Thomas Smith, Blane Cox, Paul David Tierney Cinch Timed Event Championship
All Comes Down to This
Veteran Paul David Tierney, Last-Minute Fill-In Thomas Smith Neck & Neck Entering Round 5 of Cinch Timed Event Championship
Top Horse Cinch Timed Event
We Need YOU
VOTE HERE: Who's the AQHA's Top Horse of the 2024 Cinch Timed Event Championship?