Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame Inducts Six

The Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame honors Texas men and women who have excelled in the sports of rodeo, cutting and the equine industry, as well as by becoming accomplished figures in the ranching world and western entertainment industry. Former inductees include Trevor Brazile, Don Edwards, George Strait, Lane Frost, Ty Murray, Tuff Hedeman, Charmayne James, Speed Williams, Rich Skelton and Don Gay.

Rodeo standouts in the 2009 class included Jim Bob Altizer, who was honored posthumously. Altizer was the 1959 world champion tie-down roper, the 1967 world champion steer roper and qualified to 10 NFRs and six NFSRs.

Team roping guru Tyler Magnus also joined the exclusive club. The nine-time Wrangler NFR roper is renowned for his teaching ability and his work on “The Roping Show with Tyler Magnus.”

Since winning the 2001 World Steer Wrestling Championship, Rope Myers has gone on to develop a Christian youth ministry in Van, Texas.

Rounding out the honorees were actor and ninth generation Texan Tommy Lee Jones-selected for his accomplishments as a rancher and champion polo player-and Ken Welch, former PRCA rookie of the year saddle bronc rider who made a name for himself developing a cattle and horse operation for Silverbrook Ranches, owned by King Ranch descendant Helen Groves.

Actor Barry Corbin, a native of Lamesa, Texas, was honored with the Rick Smith Spirit of Texas Award for his work as an actor on stage and screen.

Related Articles
Broc Cresta
Never Forgotten
Broc Cresta: The Legend Lives On
Untitled design-14
5 Things J.D. Yates Did to Raise a Winner in Trey
Steer sitting in the chute getting the horn wrap taken off.
Make Your Steers Last Longer
Editor's Note
Editor's Note: Star Power
Image placeholder title
Get the Edge In Your Roping with Jake Barnes